Whole Wheat Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
These really are great! I was pretty skeptical at first because of the simplicity of the whole recipe, but they turned out chewy and really good. They'd be great with some tuna or chicken salad inside, or sliced turkey and veggies. I ate melted cheese on one, ate several plain, and spread hummus on some. Try them, you'll like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
These turned out pretty well, but I couldn't get them soft. I think it's just my inexperience. They were great with black beans and rice, sour cream, lettuce, and shredded cheese. Yummy! UPDATE: Almost two years later, I made it again. I changed the rating from four to five stars. You HAVE to add more water, 1 Tbsp. at a time until you have a good, moist (but not wet) dough. Knead it to work the gluten. When the dough is elastic and stretchy (if it crumbles add more water!), divide and let rest. This also lets the gluten rest, so you can roll them out (I just use my counter--no waxed paper). I divided the dough into 16 balls, but used 1 1/2 balls for each wrap. As soon as you remove each cooked wrap from the skillet, place it in a plastic ziplock bag to steam and soften. While the wraps don't have a lot of flavor by themselves, they are great filled! This recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Mine were terrible. I had to throw them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
If I could give it a "no star" rating, I would. Dense, but no flavor. Impossible to roll out without the dough breaking apart. Only real use is as a doorstop. I will never, never try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
Excellent recipe for a healthy wrap, with the help of all the reviews written! I kneaded the dough for about 20 minutes and followed the reviewers' suggestions. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
These are nice. I'd make them again. You do have to knead them for quite a long time, though, making them quite hard work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
These were all right, but not worth all the effort. I'd rather spend the .99 at the store! They were very hard to roll out as thin as I would have liked. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
These turned out very well and tasted good. Very filling if you are eating good carbs. I did let the dough rest after I worked it so give time for the gluten to react.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kennedy, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
I really appreciate this recipe. I'm on a yeast-free diet and needed something like this! I make half the recipe into 16 wraps. It makes 6" circles. I use my dough hooks to knead and roll all of them out on a lightly floured cloth, place them all on a cookie sheet (they don't stick together because of the floured cloth) and cook them in the skillet. Also, putting them in a container while hot keeps them from getting too hard. These are much better then store purchased wraps and don't take tons of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Worked great! I was a bit sceptical at first that only flour and water could make a dough (being the novice that I am), but it worked and it tasted great. Not quite five star stuff, but I'll definitely be using this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States