Whole Wheat Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Good and simple but perhaps not worth the effort. However, if you have a bit of time, a family that appreciates good cooking, or perhaps don't have the tortillas you need and don't want to drive to the store, this is great. Very hard to roll thin enough to get roll/wrap-able tortillas - I served tacos but we had to eat them in more of a hard-taco shell shape, you could only bend the wraps, not roll them. They harden even more as they cool. They're still tasty, though. Just a bit chewy & harder than normal tortillas. I did use w.w. bread flour, which may have hardened things :-) Lightly oiled a seasoned pan. The 'ready in' time is probably an overestimate - I'd say about 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
These were good I had to add more flour, but that was probably my fault. I think I added the water too fast. Half of this I stuffed with tuna salad, and made tuna sandwiches. The other half I added chocolate to, and added bananans, icecream, confectioner's sugar, and whipped cream to. These were very easy, and healthy. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Yummmmm! These were very good. I had to add a bit more wheat flour, otherwise these would have been too sticky. Didn't have any wax paper so I floured my board & rolling pin & rolled them out thin. If one gets stiff, let it sit while you do another. Really good with another recipe from this site for Make Ahead Lunch Wraps. Be careful that you use a SEASONED griddle, ungreased... otherwise you'll destroy your pan with the flour burning. Great recipe, low fat & healthy, why buy?? You KNOW what's in these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B. Borden
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
These wraps are delicious. I made a customized verson (4 servings), butI needed to add more water than the receipe called for. I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Worked great! I was a bit sceptical at first that only flour and water could make a dough (being the novice that I am), but it worked and it tasted great. Not quite five star stuff, but I'll definitely be using this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
I really appreciate this recipe. I'm on a yeast-free diet and needed something like this! I make half the recipe into 16 wraps. It makes 6" circles. I use my dough hooks to knead and roll all of them out on a lightly floured cloth, place them all on a cookie sheet (they don't stick together because of the floured cloth) and cook them in the skillet. Also, putting them in a container while hot keeps them from getting too hard. These are much better then store purchased wraps and don't take tons of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
These turned out very well and tasted good. Very filling if you are eating good carbs. I did let the dough rest after I worked it so give time for the gluten to react.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kennedy, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
These were all right, but not worth all the effort. I'd rather spend the .99 at the store! They were very hard to roll out as thin as I would have liked. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
These are nice. I'd make them again. You do have to knead them for quite a long time, though, making them quite hard work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
Excellent recipe for a healthy wrap, with the help of all the reviews written! I kneaded the dough for about 20 minutes and followed the reviewers' suggestions. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States