Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lori L.
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Only two people in my family like sweet potatoes, but all four of us really liked these muffins. I reduced the honey to 3/4 cup and used 1/2 cup of 2% milk instead of yogurt. Oh, I also cheated for the sake of ease and used canned yams. I will cut the topping by 1/2 next time. There was too much left over. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
TOTALLY DELICIOUS! I can't believe how tasty and healthy these muffins were! The topping is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Wonderful recipe, this is definately a keeper! So easy, delicious and healthy. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These were quite tasty and healthy. I reduced the honey to 3/4 cup and they were still sweet enough. I will make them again, only next time I will add more spices as they needed just a tad more zing, and the topping made much more than I actually needed, so I'll halve that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
My children love these....easy to make! Healthy, snack or breakfast for my 9 month old. Didnt even have to use the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
i made the following substitutions, so these are very healthy: a combo of 1 c. blended oats & 1 c. whole wheat flour, applesauce instead of oil, reduced the honey to 1/2 c., milk instead of yogurt. also for the topping, cut all the ingredients in half, as i had way too much! this made 18 muffins and they cooked about 19 minutes. beautiful, sweet, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Very moist and delicious. I used a full cup of orange juice concentrate instead of honey for a citrus twist and it was perfectly sweet enough - very good for breakfast. I've also baked this batter in a 8x8 glass pan for about 25 min. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Fabulous recipe! They were INCREDIBLY moist and flavorful. My only complaint is that it calls for 1 sweet potato, but they come in many different sizes- a volume measurement would have been nice. I will certainly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
when i sunk my teeth into these, i felt like i could fly w/ wings of an angel in heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by accidental cook
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I was so tempted to add some all purpose white flour...I thought for sure 100% whole wheat flour would be to heavy and earthy. I was wrong. This turned out wonderfully and you can feel pretty good about their healthy ingredients. I took other's advice and cut down on the sweetener - I used 1/2 cup of Agave syrup and it turned out perfectly sweet. I also substituted milk for the vanilla yogurt and I put a touch of melted light butter into my topping with a bit of water to hold it all together. I let the batter sit for about 45 minutes before I baked them. These are delicious and I'll be making them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States