Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
i made the following substitutions, so these are very healthy: a combo of 1 c. blended oats & 1 c. whole wheat flour, applesauce instead of oil, reduced the honey to 1/2 c., milk instead of yogurt. also for the topping, cut all the ingredients in half, as i had way too much! this made 18 muffins and they cooked about 19 minutes. beautiful, sweet, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Sweet mama potato! Healthy, with spice quantities are just low enough not to overwhelm the naturally mild and pleasant flavor of the sweet potato. This is the critical point. Five stars, if not for the slightly high sweetness (and I'm a sugarholic). ALL kids will devour them. Busy/cheap people, try these variations: Quarter sweet potato and nuke for 8 minutes (check: skin pulls off easily when done, but tears when overdone) Trade honey for brown sugar. Don't feel bad skimping on either. These muffins are plenty sweet. Use 1/2 Cup skim milk instead of yogurt If cloves or ginger aren't handy, try allspice. Mash the potato with the oil, it makes it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Very moist and delicious. I used a full cup of orange juice concentrate instead of honey for a citrus twist and it was perfectly sweet enough - very good for breakfast. I've also baked this batter in a 8x8 glass pan for about 25 min. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by accidental cook
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I was so tempted to add some all purpose white flour...I thought for sure 100% whole wheat flour would be to heavy and earthy. I was wrong. This turned out wonderfully and you can feel pretty good about their healthy ingredients. I took other's advice and cut down on the sweetener - I used 1/2 cup of Agave syrup and it turned out perfectly sweet. I also substituted milk for the vanilla yogurt and I put a touch of melted light butter into my topping with a bit of water to hold it all together. I let the batter sit for about 45 minutes before I baked them. These are delicious and I'll be making them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
YUM! Had a lonely sweet potato sitting around and wasn't sure what I was going to do with it, so I thought I'd try these muffins. They are so good! I used applesauce instead of the oil per other suggestions & used only 1/2 cup of honey. Other than that, kept everything else the same for the muffin ingredients. The taste is perfect! Not too sweet, but sweet enough. The oat topping is a nice touch! I halved the topping & it was just the right amount for 18 muffins. Thank you so much for this recipe! Will definitely be making these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Love these! I baked per recipe except that I took the advise of others and used only 1/2 cup of Agave instead of 1 cup of honey. I did use 1 cup of reg whole wheat flour and 1 cup of white whole flour. I also halved the amount of topping and it was plenty. My sweet potato was pretty large and these came out so moist and not too heavy, maybe due to the white whole wheat flour. Will make often! Thanks for this lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klhskygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I had a can of sweet potatoes I was itching to use up and found this recipe. I had no idea how much to use so I used 3/4 of the 15 oz can. It seemed to be just right. I used 1/4 cup Agave sweetener plus a few more squirts after checking the batter. I have a huge sweet tooth and I could stand to have these sweeter but then again they are still tasty. I didn't want to bust out the blender so I just did the sugar and oats and cinnamon for the topping added a little melted butter to make them stick. I can't wait to have an extra sweet potato laying around. I am making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are delicious.. sooo moist! I used whole wheat pastry flour, which I prefer over regular. I used plain yogurt instead of vanilla. Next time I will cut the topping to about 1/3 the amount, and go easy on the honey, as they were a little sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Simple, moist & all four of my daughters like them! I used applesauce instead of oil, a whole, unrefined sugar instead of sugar, and used only 1/2 cup honey and they were great. There was a lot of topping left, so either heap it on or throw it in the freezer for the next time you make muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These were quite tasty and healthy. I reduced the honey to 3/4 cup and they were still sweet enough. I will make them again, only next time I will add more spices as they needed just a tad more zing, and the topping made much more than I actually needed, so I'll halve that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States