Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Sweet mama potato! Healthy, with spice quantities are just low enough not to overwhelm the naturally mild and pleasant flavor of the sweet potato. This is the critical point. Five stars, if not for the slightly high sweetness (and I'm a sugarholic). ALL kids will devour them. Busy/cheap people, try these variations: Quarter sweet potato and nuke for 8 minutes (check: skin pulls off easily when done, but tears when overdone) Trade honey for brown sugar. Don't feel bad skimping on either. These muffins are plenty sweet. Use 1/2 Cup skim milk instead of yogurt If cloves or ginger aren't handy, try allspice. Mash the potato with the oil, it makes it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Wonderful recipe, this is definately a keeper! So easy, delicious and healthy. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These were quite tasty and healthy. I reduced the honey to 3/4 cup and they were still sweet enough. I will make them again, only next time I will add more spices as they needed just a tad more zing, and the topping made much more than I actually needed, so I'll halve that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
TOTALLY DELICIOUS! I can't believe how tasty and healthy these muffins were! The topping is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
My children love these....easy to make! Healthy, snack or breakfast for my 9 month old. Didnt even have to use the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
i made the following substitutions, so these are very healthy: a combo of 1 c. blended oats & 1 c. whole wheat flour, applesauce instead of oil, reduced the honey to 1/2 c., milk instead of yogurt. also for the topping, cut all the ingredients in half, as i had way too much! this made 18 muffins and they cooked about 19 minutes. beautiful, sweet, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Very moist and delicious. I used a full cup of orange juice concentrate instead of honey for a citrus twist and it was perfectly sweet enough - very good for breakfast. I've also baked this batter in a 8x8 glass pan for about 25 min. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori L.
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Only two people in my family like sweet potatoes, but all four of us really liked these muffins. I reduced the honey to 3/4 cup and used 1/2 cup of 2% milk instead of yogurt. Oh, I also cheated for the sake of ease and used canned yams. I will cut the topping by 1/2 next time. There was too much left over. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Fabulous recipe! They were INCREDIBLY moist and flavorful. My only complaint is that it calls for 1 sweet potato, but they come in many different sizes- a volume measurement would have been nice. I will certainly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
when i sunk my teeth into these, i felt like i could fly w/ wings of an angel in heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States