Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by squeakyduck
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
These are absolutely delicious! Moist and fluffy, not heavy at all. I used 3/4 C brown sugar in place of honey, since I didn't have enough honey & other reviewers noted the sweetness. I also used 1 C. of soy milk in place of the yogurt, and subbed applesauce for half the oil, and didn't notice anything unusual - they turned out delicious. Particularly tasty warmed and eaten with a little natural applesauce (reminds me of ginger bread with applesauce, which is a favorite sort of "old-fashioned" treat). These would really be good without the topping, too, if you didn't have oats and nuts, but it was a nice addition. I will use this recipe again - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Delightful! I added chopped dates, subbed applesauce for 1/2 the butter, milk for the yogurt and maple syrup for the honey. I also skipped the topping and just sprinkled slivered almonds on top! Tasty, healthy, and filling -- just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
fantastic! i did use 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of honey and 1/2 cup milk instead of yogurt. great muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Trying to start a Food Revolution in our home, and eat healthier. These muffins satisfy my sweet tooth, while ensuring that my kids are getting a healthy snack/breakfast. The only change I made was cut back the honey to about 1/2 cup and made only half the topping (and still had some left over). Other than that I followed the recipe exactly, and they turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
These were very good when they first came out of the oven. However, within a few hours all the sweet potato turned a bright, moldy green! The muffin looked like it was full of gooey boogars....really, really weird, I don't know why it would do that. I used apple sauce instead of oil, maybe that's it. Anyway, normally I'm not a picky eater put the appearance really put us off and the rest of them never got eaten, grew greener everyday, and were eventually tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
YUM! Had a lonely sweet potato sitting around and wasn't sure what I was going to do with it, so I thought I'd try these muffins. They are so good! I used applesauce instead of the oil per other suggestions & used only 1/2 cup of honey. Other than that, kept everything else the same for the muffin ingredients. The taste is perfect! Not too sweet, but sweet enough. The oat topping is a nice touch! I halved the topping & it was just the right amount for 18 muffins. Thank you so much for this recipe! Will definitely be making these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Oh yummy!! A perfect breakfast muffin! Edits: 1/2 cup honey, 1/2 cup milk instead of yogurt; cut the topping in half sans almonds and STILL it was a lot (I'll hold leftover topping for next batch). Be generous with the topping though as the surface expands during baking. My yield was six large and six medium muffins. They baked about 19 minutes. Dense but soft and perfectly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I was very excited to try these while I was baking them. The first ones we had, when they were still warm, were excellent. But as they sat they got very gummy and we ended up throwing away what wasn't eaten the first day. Also, mine did not rise very well, but that could have been my mistake in measuring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLMcKay3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I just made these today and my girls (5 & 3) we begging for more. I followed some suggestions, used 1 cup Whole wheat flour 1 Cup quick oats, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup honey, substituted the oil for 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce and also substituted the yogurt for 1/2 cup low fat milk. I skipped the topping all together. These will become a lowfat snack/breakfast staple in our house. Cooked for about 18 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These are great. I subbed applesauce for vegetable oil and milk for yogurt and cut the honey down to 3/4 cup. I made half the topping recipe (which was still plenty), omitting the almonds. Mine baked for 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States