Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Wowza....just made these for my preschoolers class as a "first day of autumn" snack (the grocery stores are out of pumpkin puree) and man are they good! Wish I had double-batched them cuz I only had one extra and it is G.O.N.E! I did sub-out brown sugar for honey and used white flour but 1/2'd the oil for ground flax and they still taste pretty hearty/healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Great recipe, I am so pleased! Followed advice of one reviewer and microwaved the sweet potato to cut down on prep time, used brown sugar instead of honey (and only 1/2 cup), omitted cloves and threw in a 1/2 cup of sunflower seeds (for protein) and 1/2 cup chocolate chips (more kid-friendly in my house) and they were just great! Kids said they could not even taste the sweet potato! Will make this again, next time in a double batch as they disappeared fast (and were in fact intended for freezing for use in school lunches....) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
These were really good. I used applesauce instead of oil and didn't have vanilla yogurt so just used plain. These turned out great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
These are very tastey. My picky husband and toddler gobble them right up! I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bagdad, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
These are awesome muffins! They were a new recipe for a friend's lunch visit, and she requested the recipe. Very moist and fluffy. After going to the cupboard, I realized I only had 1/3 c. honey, so I substituted the remaining 2/3 c. w/ maple syrup. It was delicious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
These were absolutely phenomenal! I reduced the honey to 3/4 c and used applesauce in place of the oil. Healthy, hearty, and awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This was a HUGE hit with my friends. The muffins took 24 minutes to bake, though. I may have added too much yogurt or other liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy T - Valrico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I used 1/2 cup of honey and substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil. It wasn't quite sweet enough for my tatse, but I have a mighty sugar tooth. These were really healthy and a great grab and go breakfast idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
These muffins are awesome! The only changes I made was to cut the honey to 1/2 cup & substituted 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for the oil. The final result was a moist, sweet muffin that my kids loved!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This is one excellent muffin that freezes well! I used organic white whole wheat flour and only 3/4 cup of honey. I upped the spices a bit and instead of brown sugar for the topping I used coconut sugar. I dare anyone to detect that this is a 100% whole grain muffin when made with www flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States