Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These were so adaptable! I used left over sweet potato casserole. I had about 2-3 cups that was topped with a pecan brown sugar topping not marshmellows. I also did like other readers and added brown sugar instead of honey. Did not have enough yogurt so added milk to thin since the brown sugar didn't add moisture. Filled my muffin cups to the top and instead of struesel topping, sprinkled with demera sugar and flax seeds. My 5 kids loved it even though they knew they were made with the sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving that they are not fond of. Will definitely keep this one. Yummy! PS. Had to cook about 25 minutes but the muffins where huge and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Excellent! Made some changes, instead of honey, I used 1/4 real maple syrup, 1/4 agave, 1/4 cup brown sugar. Used milk instead of yogurt and a really big sweet potato that I had boiled instead of baked. Used 1 cup unbleached flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour. Then topped with the mixture with no nuts. They came out really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
loved them!! used half oat flour and four small sweet potatos. also added flax.....kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
These are amazing and so moist... no one would ever guess they are super healthy, too. Even my 6 year old said they would be 'awesome' in her snack or lunch. Definitely a keeper recipe. For the topping, I just used oat flour and mixed with the other ingredients (I chopped slivered almonds) and that saved dirtying the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRVRBS31GAL
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Wowza....just made these for my preschoolers class as a "first day of autumn" snack (the grocery stores are out of pumpkin puree) and man are they good! Wish I had double-batched them cuz I only had one extra and it is G.O.N.E! I did sub-out brown sugar for honey and used white flour but 1/2'd the oil for ground flax and they still taste pretty hearty/healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Great recipe, I am so pleased! Followed advice of one reviewer and microwaved the sweet potato to cut down on prep time, used brown sugar instead of honey (and only 1/2 cup), omitted cloves and threw in a 1/2 cup of sunflower seeds (for protein) and 1/2 cup chocolate chips (more kid-friendly in my house) and they were just great! Kids said they could not even taste the sweet potato! Will make this again, next time in a double batch as they disappeared fast (and were in fact intended for freezing for use in school lunches....) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
These were really good. I used applesauce instead of oil and didn't have vanilla yogurt so just used plain. These turned out great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
These are very tastey. My picky husband and toddler gobble them right up! I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bagdad, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
These are awesome muffins! They were a new recipe for a friend's lunch visit, and she requested the recipe. Very moist and fluffy. After going to the cupboard, I realized I only had 1/3 c. honey, so I substituted the remaining 2/3 c. w/ maple syrup. It was delicious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
These were absolutely phenomenal! I reduced the honey to 3/4 c and used applesauce in place of the oil. Healthy, hearty, and awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States