Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I listened to everyone's suggestions of halving the topping, and I still had some left over! For the batter, I substituted vegetable oil with extra virgin olive oil. and instead of 2 cups wheat flour, I did 1 3/4. The other 1/4 I used oats. I also substituted honey with 1/2 brown sugar and the yogurt with 1/2 skim milk. Baking this in a 9x5 loaf took ~50 minutes. It's perfectly moist and nutty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LKat

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Just baked these. My husband and I both liked them alot. Makes a great snack item. Used whole wheat flour, used a can of sweet potato, used brown sugar instead of honey. I didn't have enough honey. I'll definitely make these again. I am always looking for healthy recipes for snack items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Theses were really good, quite possibly the best muffins ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockerChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Very good muffins, got a 4 out of 5 because not enough sweet potato flavor, would use more than just one large sweet potato in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
So delicious!!! I doubled these, following the recipe except reduced the honey to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup of molasses. Perfectly sweet and so tender. I've finally made muffins like I've always wanted to make! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The family loved them, I thought they were okay. Would like to figure out how to use less sugar(honey). Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
You could´t tell they are whole wheat, and less made from sweet potatoes. I added applesauce instead of oil, 1/2 cup honey instead of 1 cup and lowered by half the topping ingredients. Used just 1 medium sweet potato. Great recipe that will do over and over again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia García-Sayán de King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
4 for the healthiness. 3 1/2 for the taste. this is by by no means gross or even average tasting, but its nothing special. you should definitely try this once b/c the sweet potato is such a unique ingredient. i made half with the topping and half w/out and w/ topping definitely tastes better. like others i used half flour and half oatmeal, one half cup brown sugar instead of 1 cup of honey, milk instead of yogurt. definitely halve or even third the topping b/c theres a lot of leftovers. if you are using brown sugar instead of honey definitely add the brown sugar to the dry ingredients instead of simply inserting where the recipe calls for honey. MIX and INCORPORATE the sweet potato well to insure that there arent random clumps of sweet potato in your muffins...not that that happened to me... ;]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This has become a GO-TO recipe for me! I use my own homemade granola as a topping but I liked this topping as well. Fantastic to take as a gift or to a bakesale/potluck as a fresh yummy option that replaces old tired rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Fantastic, just as written. A good way to use leftover sweet potatoes (or I've substitued leftover butternut squash) from the holiday meal. Next time I'll try the suggestion using the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry
Home Town: Mendota Heights, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States