Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Excellent. Followed other reviews and substituted unsweetened applesauce for oil and 1/2 c brown sugar for honey. I did not make the topping because I was making mini muffins and just couldn't visualize fitting the topping on the tiny muffins. They were great even without the topping but next time I will make the topping. Made these again and used the topping even on the mini muffins. These are great to sneak a vegetable into the grandchildren. We found that the extra topping is really good on oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Shults Toole
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Had to sub out milk for the yogurt because I was out of yogurt, left off the topping, and added dark chocolate chips 'cuz my kids will eat anything with chocolate chips in it. They were fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
These muffins are great! I substituted applesauce for oil and only used 1 of the 2 egg yolks and they turned out perfect. I made them into mini muffins so I can have a few and not a lot of guilt. **Revised rating to 4 stars from 5 because I think there's too much honey in the muffins. They are very sticky to eat and don't keep well. First time around though, they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Yum, this recipe made delicious muffins that I can feel good about eating! Only problem, how do you keep the muffins from sticking to the paper muffin cups??? I only had 1/3 cup of honey so I used that plus 3 Tbsp of Agave Nectar and they are plenty sweet. Also, my sweet potato was massive so I used about 2/3 of it. Thank you for the wonderful, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I listened to everyone's suggestions of halving the topping, and I still had some left over! For the batter, I substituted vegetable oil with extra virgin olive oil. and instead of 2 cups wheat flour, I did 1 3/4. The other 1/4 I used oats. I also substituted honey with 1/2 brown sugar and the yogurt with 1/2 skim milk. Baking this in a 9x5 loaf took ~50 minutes. It's perfectly moist and nutty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LKat

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Just baked these. My husband and I both liked them alot. Makes a great snack item. Used whole wheat flour, used a can of sweet potato, used brown sugar instead of honey. I didn't have enough honey. I'll definitely make these again. I am always looking for healthy recipes for snack items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Theses were really good, quite possibly the best muffins ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockerChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Very good muffins, got a 4 out of 5 because not enough sweet potato flavor, would use more than just one large sweet potato in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
So delicious!!! I doubled these, following the recipe except reduced the honey to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup of molasses. Perfectly sweet and so tender. I've finally made muffins like I've always wanted to make! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The family loved them, I thought they were okay. Would like to figure out how to use less sugar(honey). Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States