Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
These are so good! I didn't make the topping and used applesauce in place of the oil. My kids ate these right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Love these! I baked per recipe except that I took the advise of others and used only 1/2 cup of Agave instead of 1 cup of honey. I did use 1 cup of reg whole wheat flour and 1 cup of white whole flour. I also halved the amount of topping and it was plenty. My sweet potato was pretty large and these came out so moist and not too heavy, maybe due to the white whole wheat flour. Will make often! Thanks for this lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klhskygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Very, very good! I am not a sweets fan and was worried these would be more like candy, but I was worried for nothing. Like others, I used 1/2 c Agave instead of honey, but otherwise I stayed true to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie47803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is a keeper! Not too sweet, healthy, and yummy! The topping is good but I'd like to try something crunchier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
VERY GOOD MUFFINS! Very tasty and moist. My kids liked them too. This recipe is a definite keeper! I don't like bland food so I did not level off the spices when measuring in the measuring spoons. I think that was the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Excellent. Followed other reviews and substituted unsweetened applesauce for oil and 1/2 c brown sugar for honey. I did not make the topping because I was making mini muffins and just couldn't visualize fitting the topping on the tiny muffins. They were great even without the topping but next time I will make the topping. Made these again and used the topping even on the mini muffins. These are great to sneak a vegetable into the grandchildren. We found that the extra topping is really good on oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Shults Toole
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Had to sub out milk for the yogurt because I was out of yogurt, left off the topping, and added dark chocolate chips 'cuz my kids will eat anything with chocolate chips in it. They were fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
These muffins are great! I substituted applesauce for oil and only used 1 of the 2 egg yolks and they turned out perfect. I made them into mini muffins so I can have a few and not a lot of guilt. **Revised rating to 4 stars from 5 because I think there's too much honey in the muffins. They are very sticky to eat and don't keep well. First time around though, they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Yum, this recipe made delicious muffins that I can feel good about eating! Only problem, how do you keep the muffins from sticking to the paper muffin cups??? I only had 1/3 cup of honey so I used that plus 3 Tbsp of Agave Nectar and they are plenty sweet. Also, my sweet potato was massive so I used about 2/3 of it. Thank you for the wonderful, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I listened to everyone's suggestions of halving the topping, and I still had some left over! For the batter, I substituted vegetable oil with extra virgin olive oil. and instead of 2 cups wheat flour, I did 1 3/4. The other 1/4 I used oats. I also substituted honey with 1/2 brown sugar and the yogurt with 1/2 skim milk. Baking this in a 9x5 loaf took ~50 minutes. It's perfectly moist and nutty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LKat

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States