Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by TiffyLoo
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I might have given it 4 stars if I had followed the recipe exact, but i became weary of the sweetness after reading reviews. In my opinion, 2/3 to 3/4 of a cup of honey would be enough, but half a cup was not, for sweetness. They could have been a tad sweeter, might try brown sugar instead of honey next time. Now that being said, this is still the best way to incorporate sweet potato into a picky eaters diet. I thought they came out moist, not too heavy and just delicious. If I had put more honey I mightve eaten all of them in one sitting! I substituted oil for unsweetened applesauce, yogurt for milk, 1 cup of honey to a half, cloves and ginger for allspice. Might switch to the yogurt as well next time. Only reason I didn't use it was because I didn't have it. And one more thing: I would probably put them directly into the muffin pan- I can barely get half the muffin out of paper cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffyLoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
These are very savory. I don't like overly sweet so did not use all the honey, but wish I had. I'm not sure if that would have just made them sweeter or hushed some of the spice but I don't think it would make them too sweet. I would probably reduce the seasoning a little next time. I'm not sure if it's the ginger but there is a little of a lingering bite to them. I was short on time so instead of processing the topping I just sprinkled on sliced almonds, natural sugar, and crushed oats but I will definitely make the topping next time. I didn't have vegetable oil so I used 3Tbl melted butter and 2Tbl ground flax. The batter was very thick and they turned out just a tad dry but that could be the honey and perhaps not enough sweet potato??? I'll use a bigger one next time. I only got 11 big "regular" muffins and though they were still gooey at 12 min, they did bake in less than 15 min at 375.(My muffins seem to over-brown in my new pan so I reduced the temp) I think these would be yummy with some apple butter or apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Yum! These smelled sooo good when they were cooking, I couldn't wait to try one. And they did not disappoint. I scaled this for 12 muffins and had to make some substitutions. I had only a couple tablespoons honey, so I used pure Louisiana cane syrup, and I substituted a third of the ww flour witih ground pecans. I didn't have vanilla yogurt and used buttermilk. And I added allspice and cardamom and eliminated the cloves. I also used avocado oil for the vegetable oil and used some apple butter in place of some of the oil and buttermilk (not quite enough buttermilk). Because these were a last-minute decision to make to use up a leftover baked sweet potato, I skipped the topping and sprinkled with demara sugar instead. I'll have to try as written sometime, but I'll definitely be making these again soon as I did this time! They are so light and tender, and I can really taste the sweet potato and cane syrup. Please take the time to bake the sweet potato, and bake until it's very soft and the skin is browned on the bottom and pulled away from the potato; you will be glad you did! Canned doesn't compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Healthy and tasty! I only had about 1/2 w/w flour left so I used a/p and ground flaxseed to make up the rest. I also used less honey following the reviewers' suggestions. Instead of almonds, I used pecan for the topping and also added some to the batter (toasted before putting them in). Because I wanted to get rid of all the leftover I ended up using more sweet potato than called for, so I had to cook longer (at least 20 min), but still delicious (albeit a little sticky). Will make them again in fall! (It's summer here. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
These are so good! I didn't make the topping and used applesauce in place of the oil. My kids ate these right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Love these! I baked per recipe except that I took the advise of others and used only 1/2 cup of Agave instead of 1 cup of honey. I did use 1 cup of reg whole wheat flour and 1 cup of white whole flour. I also halved the amount of topping and it was plenty. My sweet potato was pretty large and these came out so moist and not too heavy, maybe due to the white whole wheat flour. Will make often! Thanks for this lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klhskygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Very, very good! I am not a sweets fan and was worried these would be more like candy, but I was worried for nothing. Like others, I used 1/2 c Agave instead of honey, but otherwise I stayed true to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie47803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is a keeper! Not too sweet, healthy, and yummy! The topping is good but I'd like to try something crunchier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
VERY GOOD MUFFINS! Very tasty and moist. My kids liked them too. This recipe is a definite keeper! I don't like bland food so I did not level off the spices when measuring in the measuring spoons. I think that was the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Excellent. Followed other reviews and substituted unsweetened applesauce for oil and 1/2 c brown sugar for honey. I did not make the topping because I was making mini muffins and just couldn't visualize fitting the topping on the tiny muffins. They were great even without the topping but next time I will make the topping. Made these again and used the topping even on the mini muffins. These are great to sneak a vegetable into the grandchildren. We found that the extra topping is really good on oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States