Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I loved these! I made last night! So soft and very tasty! I enjoyed every morsel! I have no complaints at all! I tweaked recipe of course because I am a tweaker! I used sugar instead of honey but only 1/2 cup. Buttermilk instead of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
These were good. I would have liked a recipe that specified the amount of sweet potato to use, I found myself wondering if mine was too big or too small, or if the amount even made a difference. I cut down the amount of honey to 1/2 cup, and found that the muffins were too bland for my liking. Next time I'll use 3/4 cup. My guests enjoyed them, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
The muffins tasted good but they were too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I loved this recipe! I cut back on the sugar a little as suggested by others (1/3 cup agave and 1/3 cup brown sugar). I also increased the spices just a touch. The topping was way too much as others have stated, but I saved the extra and have since used it on my morning oatmeal and in mashed sweet potatoes for dinner. Loved both addtitional uses. I might actually keep this on hand to do that more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
These were pretty good. I reduced the amount of honey a bit. Next time I will add more spices and not make as much of the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TiffyLoo
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I might have given it 4 stars if I had followed the recipe exact, but i became weary of the sweetness after reading reviews. In my opinion, 2/3 to 3/4 of a cup of honey would be enough, but half a cup was not, for sweetness. They could have been a tad sweeter, might try brown sugar instead of honey next time. Now that being said, this is still the best way to incorporate sweet potato into a picky eaters diet. I thought they came out moist, not too heavy and just delicious. If I had put more honey I mightve eaten all of them in one sitting! I substituted oil for unsweetened applesauce, yogurt for milk, 1 cup of honey to a half, cloves and ginger for allspice. Might switch to the yogurt as well next time. Only reason I didn't use it was because I didn't have it. And one more thing: I would probably put them directly into the muffin pan- I can barely get half the muffin out of paper cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffyLoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
These are very savory. I don't like overly sweet so did not use all the honey, but wish I had. I'm not sure if that would have just made them sweeter or hushed some of the spice but I don't think it would make them too sweet. I would probably reduce the seasoning a little next time. I'm not sure if it's the ginger but there is a little of a lingering bite to them. I was short on time so instead of processing the topping I just sprinkled on sliced almonds, natural sugar, and crushed oats but I will definitely make the topping next time. I didn't have vegetable oil so I used 3Tbl melted butter and 2Tbl ground flax. The batter was very thick and they turned out just a tad dry but that could be the honey and perhaps not enough sweet potato??? I'll use a bigger one next time. I only got 11 big "regular" muffins and though they were still gooey at 12 min, they did bake in less than 15 min at 375.(My muffins seem to over-brown in my new pan so I reduced the temp) I think these would be yummy with some apple butter or apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Yum! These smelled sooo good when they were cooking, I couldn't wait to try one. And they did not disappoint. I scaled this for 12 muffins and had to make some substitutions. I had only a couple tablespoons honey, so I used pure Louisiana cane syrup, and I substituted a third of the ww flour witih ground pecans. I didn't have vanilla yogurt and used buttermilk. And I added allspice and cardamom and eliminated the cloves. I also used avocado oil for the vegetable oil and used some apple butter in place of some of the oil and buttermilk (not quite enough buttermilk). Because these were a last-minute decision to make to use up a leftover baked sweet potato, I skipped the topping and sprinkled with demara sugar instead. I'll have to try as written sometime, but I'll definitely be making these again soon as I did this time! They are so light and tender, and I can really taste the sweet potato and cane syrup. Please take the time to bake the sweet potato, and bake until it's very soft and the skin is browned on the bottom and pulled away from the potato; you will be glad you did! Canned doesn't compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Healthy and tasty! I only had about 1/2 w/w flour left so I used a/p and ground flaxseed to make up the rest. I also used less honey following the reviewers' suggestions. Instead of almonds, I used pecan for the topping and also added some to the batter (toasted before putting them in). Because I wanted to get rid of all the leftover I ended up using more sweet potato than called for, so I had to cook longer (at least 20 min), but still delicious (albeit a little sticky). Will make them again in fall! (It's summer here. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
These are so good! I didn't make the topping and used applesauce in place of the oil. My kids ate these right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States