Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I cut the honey in half, used unsweetened applesauce in place of oil, and halved the topping and they were still REALLY sweet to me. I froze some of ours and reheat them for snacks. They still come out moist and taste as though they were just made. Next time I might lower the ratio of brown sugar on the topping...or even try mixing nuts/oats into the batter and leave the topping off completely. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Don't love the sweet potato flavor... Tastes like pumpkin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Sweet Potato makes it Fiber-licious! Definitely cut back to half cup honey and I used applesauce in place of oil. Way too much topping so I will leave that out. I like a muffin I can pick up and walk around with or eat at work so no topping for me but will add to batter chopped nuts. Otherwise, a healthy muffin with lots of fiber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
After baking an 8oz sweet potato I ended up with 1 cup mashed. We don't like wheat flour so I just used white and reduced honey to 3/4, subbed applesauce for oil and plain nonfat yogurt for vanilla and skipped the topping all together. These completely wow'd my boyfriend and basically vanished when I brought them to work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I didnt have yogurt so I used 2% milk, other than that I followed the recipes exactly and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
These muffins are amazing! I read some of the reviews before starting (always a good idea), so I cut the sugar in half as well. Seriously, a whole cup of honey! that stuff is expensive. So I used just half a cup of white suger. Also, I tripled the yogurt, and used plain unsweetened no-fat. The cooking time was double what is recommended, not sure if my oven is dying, or that these are just too moist and thick. They are delicious, all the same, and this recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Delicious! Would never know sweet potatoes were in there - a bit on the sweet side with the topping. Would be delicious without topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I loved these! I made last night! So soft and very tasty! I enjoyed every morsel! I have no complaints at all! I tweaked recipe of course because I am a tweaker! I used sugar instead of honey but only 1/2 cup. Buttermilk instead of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
These were good. I would have liked a recipe that specified the amount of sweet potato to use, I found myself wondering if mine was too big or too small, or if the amount even made a difference. I cut down the amount of honey to 1/2 cup, and found that the muffins were too bland for my liking. Next time I'll use 3/4 cup. My guests enjoyed them, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
The muffins tasted good but they were too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States