Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Amazing! I added some chopped prunes and used flax instead of eggs (1TB flax + 3TB water = 1 egg). The topping was delicious but the recipe makes wayyyy to much. I was generous with it and still have enough topping for a second batch. I saved the leftover topping in my pantry, because I will be making this recipe again! Also, I used a stoneware cupcake pan and needed to bake for 25 min. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hajeewajee
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
ABSOLUTELY LIFE CHANGING! I am a novice baker and undertook this endeavor a bit carelessly. My niece and I did this more as a bonding and educational activity with no real dreams of grandeur...and then we tasted the finished product...and eyes wide...breath indrawn...fingers pressing against the plate to get every stray crumb...we realized this was no ordinary recipe and not your average muffins. They were gone in minutes once word caught about how delectable they were. Only changes I made was brown sugar instead of honey, added 1/4 teaspoon of allspice and added 4 tablespoons of butter to the streusel topping. We decided to name them... drum roll please... Yummy Yammies! :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hajeewajee
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Good recipe. I used 1/4 C yogurt and 1/4 C almond milk. My batter was still pretty thick so I added another 1/8 C of milk. Kids loved em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I cut the honey in half, used unsweetened applesauce in place of oil, and halved the topping and they were still REALLY sweet to me. I froze some of ours and reheat them for snacks. They still come out moist and taste as though they were just made. Next time I might lower the ratio of brown sugar on the topping...or even try mixing nuts/oats into the batter and leave the topping off completely. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Don't love the sweet potato flavor... Tastes like pumpkin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Sweet Potato makes it Fiber-licious! Definitely cut back to half cup honey and I used applesauce in place of oil. Way too much topping so I will leave that out. I like a muffin I can pick up and walk around with or eat at work so no topping for me but will add to batter chopped nuts. Otherwise, a healthy muffin with lots of fiber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
After baking an 8oz sweet potato I ended up with 1 cup mashed. We don't like wheat flour so I just used white and reduced honey to 3/4, subbed applesauce for oil and plain nonfat yogurt for vanilla and skipped the topping all together. These completely wow'd my boyfriend and basically vanished when I brought them to work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I didnt have yogurt so I used 2% milk, other than that I followed the recipes exactly and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
These muffins are amazing! I read some of the reviews before starting (always a good idea), so I cut the sugar in half as well. Seriously, a whole cup of honey! that stuff is expensive. So I used just half a cup of white suger. Also, I tripled the yogurt, and used plain unsweetened no-fat. The cooking time was double what is recommended, not sure if my oven is dying, or that these are just too moist and thick. They are delicious, all the same, and this recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Delicious! Would never know sweet potatoes were in there - a bit on the sweet side with the topping. Would be delicious without topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States