Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by hajeewajee
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
ABSOLUTELY LIFE CHANGING! I am a novice baker and undertook this endeavor a bit carelessly. My niece and I did this more as a bonding and educational activity with no real dreams of grandeur...and then we tasted the finished product...and eyes wide...breath indrawn...fingers pressing against the plate to get every stray crumb...we realized this was no ordinary recipe and not your average muffins. They were gone in minutes once word caught about how delectable they were. Only changes I made was brown sugar instead of honey, added 1/4 teaspoon of allspice and added 4 tablespoons of butter to the streusel topping. We decided to name them... drum roll please... Yummy Yammies! :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hajeewajee
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Good recipe. I used 1/4 C yogurt and 1/4 C almond milk. My batter was still pretty thick so I added another 1/8 C of milk. Kids loved em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I'm going to make these tomorrow so I'm giving it a provisional 4 based on the feel of the recipe. Off hand like the one member reviewing, I'd cut back the honey by half BUT... this needs fresh Californian Raisins and California nuts! Then it'll be over the moon baby! When I was a kid in a rural grade school in Central CA we had gifted cooks. They'd get cans and cans and cans of yams/sweet potatoes and we wouldn't eat them. So, since they all had Southern roots they baked with them. Mmmm... better than pumpkin by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I cut the honey in half, used unsweetened applesauce in place of oil, and halved the topping and they were still REALLY sweet to me. I froze some of ours and reheat them for snacks. They still come out moist and taste as though they were just made. Next time I might lower the ratio of brown sugar on the topping...or even try mixing nuts/oats into the batter and leave the topping off completely. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Don't love the sweet potato flavor... Tastes like pumpkin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Sweet Potato makes it Fiber-licious! Definitely cut back to half cup honey and I used applesauce in place of oil. Way too much topping so I will leave that out. I like a muffin I can pick up and walk around with or eat at work so no topping for me but will add to batter chopped nuts. Otherwise, a healthy muffin with lots of fiber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
After baking an 8oz sweet potato I ended up with 1 cup mashed. We don't like wheat flour so I just used white and reduced honey to 3/4, subbed applesauce for oil and plain nonfat yogurt for vanilla and skipped the topping all together. These completely wow'd my boyfriend and basically vanished when I brought them to work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I didnt have yogurt so I used 2% milk, other than that I followed the recipes exactly and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
These muffins are amazing! I read some of the reviews before starting (always a good idea), so I cut the sugar in half as well. Seriously, a whole cup of honey! that stuff is expensive. So I used just half a cup of white suger. Also, I tripled the yogurt, and used plain unsweetened no-fat. The cooking time was double what is recommended, not sure if my oven is dying, or that these are just too moist and thick. They are delicious, all the same, and this recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Delicious! Would never know sweet potatoes were in there - a bit on the sweet side with the topping. Would be delicious without topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States