Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Theese were quite good-my hubbie loves that they are healthy. I subbed brown sugar for the honey, and cut it back to 1/2 cup (wow, who has a whole cup of honey to use in just one batch of muffins?!) I also subbed applesauce for oil and used fat free yogurt. They needed just a little something more, so next time I may add a little more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very good! I agree with a previous reveiwer that the topping is like "sawdust." However, the rest of the muffin is great! I might just use brown sugar and cinnamon for the topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Very good. I used 1 cup of sweet potato, 1 cup of whole wheat flour, 1 cup of quick oats,(in place of the 2c whole wheat flour) 4 oz of applesauce (in place of the oil) and 1/2 cup of honey and the rest of the ingreds listed. For the topping I used a little less brown sugar and added a little agave nectar. Had to bake mine for 18 minutes. Made 16 sweet, spicy muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
The recipe is very good! However, I had to leave them in the oven 10 minutes extra and with the quantities above, I only made 12. But the recipe is very good. Very tasty and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Very good! My husband did not like the topping - he called it sawdust - but he loved the flavor of the muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
My picky 4 year old actually ate these up. He loved them! I am thrilled with this recipe. It is so tasty. I used canned yams the first time I made it and it turned out great. I used milk instead of yougurt also..2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I am hooked on these muffins! I did make some adjustments to lower the calories, and they turned out super moist and delicious, maybe too dense for some people's tastes. Here's what I did: applesauce instead of oil, Splenda instead of honey, 4 egg whites instead of 2 whole eggs, 1c whole wheat flour and 1c blended rolled oats instead of 2c wheat flour. Also, I cut the topping in half as many reviewers have and there was plenty. Since I live in Hawaii, I used Molokai sweet potatoes, which are a deep purple color - this made the muffins look positively psychedelic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was pretty good for a "healthy" recipe. I love sweet potatoes so I thought I'd give it a try. My only complaint is the whole wheat flour made them very dense and thick. I did substitute some of the flour for oats, but next time I think I'll do more - probably half oats, half whole wheat flour. They were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crappu
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
these were delicious! made changes depending on what I had. Also tried to lower fat & sugar content. I am very happy with my changes. Will definitely revisit this recipe! changes: 1 cup sweet potato 1 cup whole wheat flour 1 cup quick oats 1 teaspoon baking soda 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg 1/3 cup apple sauce 2 eggs 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 1/3 cup honey 1/3 cup fat free yogurt for topping: 1/8 cup oatmeal 1/8 cup brown sugar 1/4 cup almonds 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon 1/8 cup all-purpose flour 1 tbs butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crappu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I just tried it, and it was good. I listened to other people and used only 3/4 c. honey and I think they are definitely sweet. I wish I had listened to everyone though about the topping, I had way too much leftover. I didn't even get close to using half. I was very generous with the topping and had a few more muffins than what the recipe said. Very filling, so it will be great for snacks throughout the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States