Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
My picky 4 year old actually ate these up. He loved them! I am thrilled with this recipe. It is so tasty. I used canned yams the first time I made it and it turned out great. I used milk instead of yougurt also..2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I am hooked on these muffins! I did make some adjustments to lower the calories, and they turned out super moist and delicious, maybe too dense for some people's tastes. Here's what I did: applesauce instead of oil, Splenda instead of honey, 4 egg whites instead of 2 whole eggs, 1c whole wheat flour and 1c blended rolled oats instead of 2c wheat flour. Also, I cut the topping in half as many reviewers have and there was plenty. Since I live in Hawaii, I used Molokai sweet potatoes, which are a deep purple color - this made the muffins look positively psychedelic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was pretty good for a "healthy" recipe. I love sweet potatoes so I thought I'd give it a try. My only complaint is the whole wheat flour made them very dense and thick. I did substitute some of the flour for oats, but next time I think I'll do more - probably half oats, half whole wheat flour. They were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crappu
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
these were delicious! made changes depending on what I had. Also tried to lower fat & sugar content. I am very happy with my changes. Will definitely revisit this recipe! changes: 1 cup sweet potato 1 cup whole wheat flour 1 cup quick oats 1 teaspoon baking soda 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg 1/3 cup apple sauce 2 eggs 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 1/3 cup honey 1/3 cup fat free yogurt for topping: 1/8 cup oatmeal 1/8 cup brown sugar 1/4 cup almonds 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon 1/8 cup all-purpose flour 1 tbs butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crappu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I just tried it, and it was good. I listened to other people and used only 3/4 c. honey and I think they are definitely sweet. I wish I had listened to everyone though about the topping, I had way too much leftover. I didn't even get close to using half. I was very generous with the topping and had a few more muffins than what the recipe said. Very filling, so it will be great for snacks throughout the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Substituting white flour, I turned this recipe into a cake instead. I used a 9x13 pan and added butter to the crumb topping. oh-my-god!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
These were pretty good. I listened to the other reviews and reduced the "sugar", but I will stick to the recipe next time. UPDATE: Have made these several times now. My mom suggested adding raisins and they turned out even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
If I could give TEN stars I would!! If your reading this, you've got to make this! I had no yogurt, used 1/2 cup hole milk and had to use allspice and canned sweet patatos (one can is plenty). I also used part oats for the flour because I love oats . . I LOVE IT, its sooooo moist!! Thank you so much for posting this!! :) I will be making it forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very good - I used half whole wheat and half oat flour, and I reduced the honey to abut 3/4 cup. and I think they could have used the extra 1/4 cup as the only real sweet part was the topping. I ended up with 12 muffins, and had a lot of topping mixture leftover, so next time I'll use half quantities for that. You could even omit the topping and you'd still have a nice muffin! Very tasty and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Delicious and easy to make. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup honey. I also used 1/2 cup milk instead of yogurt. We didn't think they were too sweet but we had them for dessert not breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States