Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Well I made this recipe with the modified changes. They were tasty. But a little dry. The smell was nice while they were cooking. I think the dryness came from maybe me overcooking them alittle. But I will tyr again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JameelahS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
P.S. Picky eaters won't even know it is sweet potato if you mash it well. My husband thought it was carrot! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was fantastic! I used 3/4 c. of honey and then made up the difference with 1/4 c. maple syrup. I think they would have been fine without the maple syrup. They were plenty sweet. I also used leftover mashed sweet potatoes (about 1 cup) that had already been seasoned with cinnamon and nutmeg and mixed with a bit of milk and earth balance spread. The topping did have trouble sticking on, but I would still do it again. The more the muffins "mature" the more the topping stays put! Great recipe! My three year-old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
These are wonderful!! I made suggested changes from other reviews, also......ie. 1/2 the amount of honey, 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce (to cut down on the amount of oil). The topping makes enough for a double batch of muffins. For those of you who raise sweet potatoes in your garden and they are bigger than a typical sweet potato from the store.......I used about 1 cup of sweet potato and it was great (add a little bit more if the batter looks too dry. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Yummy and healthy! I replaced 1 cup of flour with 1 cup ground up oatmeal. I took the advice of other reviewers and used 3/4 cup honey. Used apple sauce instead of oil. I also let it sit for about 30 minutes after all ingredients were mixed together. I did not make the topping. I also used a fairly large sweet potato (6-7 inches). Makes a great breakfast muffin with a glass of milk or juice to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are delicious.. sooo moist! I used whole wheat pastry flour, which I prefer over regular. I used plain yogurt instead of vanilla. Next time I will cut the topping to about 1/3 the amount, and go easy on the honey, as they were a little sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Wow - these were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allison
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
These turned out good - moist and an interesting flavor! Changes, as recommended: applesauce instead of veg oil, only 1/2 c of honey, milk instead of yogurt. For the topping, I didn't have enough oatmeal or brown sugar, so I just used almonds and cinnamon. Next time I'll use brown sugar instead of honey - and more of it - maybe what the recipe says. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
these were yummy! i added some dried cranberries to the mix and used less honey and added orange juice like other reviewers suggested. they were still sweet with the brown sugar! however i had some beefs with this recipe - the sweet potato baking time was not enough, it was easy enough to peel but did not mash well it was still hard and i ended up with chunks of potato in the muffins. also i only had one muffin dish which made 12 so i ended up using a lot more mix per muffin but they took so long to cook and were still underdone. maybe that was my fault i suppose. they were still super good though i will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collegecook
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
No one knew these were sweet potato!! They were a great way to sneak in a veggie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States