Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very good healthy muffin. Used white whole wheat flour, subed allspice for the spices, plain greek yogurt, and 1/2ed the honey. Turned out very moist so I kept them in the fridge. Does not taste at all like sweet potatoes for anyone who thinks it sounds like a weird ingriedient for muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
These were so good! Used vanilla greek yogurt instead of regular yogurt, and 3/4 cup of honey instead of 1. Next time will substitute applesauce for oil. All in all a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very good! The topping mix made way too much, so I cut the amounts in half the next time around, and that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very tasty, moist, and sweet but not overly sweet. I used cooked and mashed squash and shredded raw carrots because I did not have a sweet potato on hand and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Wow, so many glowing reviews. 'Think I'd like it if an amount were there instead of "One sweet potato." Those babies can range. Mine worked out to be a cup & a half. I halved the honey that everyone suggested, which I subbed with brown sugar. (Hey, I didn't have any! :D) I didn't add the cloves because I thought the ginger would provide enough "bite," which it really didn't. This is a very mellow muffin! :) Mine made twelve beautiful - I mean, beautiful - round topped muffins. Gorgeous. With all the complaints too much sugar, I used 2T brown sugar & 1T plain breadcrumbs for the topping. Lemme tell ya, I think with the oat-brownsugar-almond-cinnamon topping, you'd want less sugar in it. Without it, you're probably fine as it's stated. They wanted to stick to the wrappers even after cooling, but not a lot. Moist quickbread texture, but muffin look. Mine were done in 25 minutes. These don't taste as healthy as they are - so the kids might eat them. Ha! ;D Boy child, 16, three down in less than three hours. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Amazing! I added some chopped prunes and used flax instead of eggs (1TB flax + 3TB water = 1 egg). The topping was delicious but the recipe makes wayyyy to much. I was generous with it and still have enough topping for a second batch. I saved the leftover topping in my pantry, because I will be making this recipe again! Also, I used a stoneware cupcake pan and needed to bake for 25 min. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hajeewajee
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
ABSOLUTELY LIFE CHANGING! I am a novice baker and undertook this endeavor a bit carelessly. My niece and I did this more as a bonding and educational activity with no real dreams of grandeur...and then we tasted the finished product...and eyes wide...breath indrawn...fingers pressing against the plate to get every stray crumb...we realized this was no ordinary recipe and not your average muffins. They were gone in minutes once word caught about how delectable they were. Only changes I made was brown sugar instead of honey, added 1/4 teaspoon of allspice and added 4 tablespoons of butter to the streusel topping. We decided to name them... drum roll please... Yummy Yammies! :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hajeewajee
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Good recipe. I used 1/4 C yogurt and 1/4 C almond milk. My batter was still pretty thick so I added another 1/8 C of milk. Kids loved em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I'm going to make these tomorrow so I'm giving it a provisional 4 based on the feel of the recipe. Off hand like the one member reviewing, I'd cut back the honey by half BUT... this needs fresh Californian Raisins and California nuts! Then it'll be over the moon baby! When I was a kid in a rural grade school in Central CA we had gifted cooks. They'd get cans and cans and cans of yams/sweet potatoes and we wouldn't eat them. So, since they all had Southern roots they baked with them. Mmmm... better than pumpkin by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I cut the honey in half, used unsweetened applesauce in place of oil, and halved the topping and they were still REALLY sweet to me. I froze some of ours and reheat them for snacks. They still come out moist and taste as though they were just made. Next time I might lower the ratio of brown sugar on the topping...or even try mixing nuts/oats into the batter and leave the topping off completely. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States