Whole Wheat Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This bread is good. It is nice and moist for an all wheat bread. I had to add a lot more flour when kneading (at least a cup.) The recipe makes a lot of bread, so I would recommend spliting it into more than two pans. I used two pans and split the rest between mini loaf pans. My 2 year old daughter loves the mini loaves. My only change would be to reduce the molasses. Next time I might increase the honey and decrease the molasses because it is a very strong flavor. Overall, a recipe I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I have a passion for bread. I read the other reviews but had a feeling it would work out. Not only did it rise double in size, but it tripled...each time it rose--AND baked. I almost cried when it rose so much. I just love that feeling :) The trick is LOVE and not overworking it. I was in a hurry--and I think that helped. Make sure you have good yeast. I just made one loaf--cut the recipe in half. Thank you so much for the recipe; I hope your son is healthy and happy. Best, Jennifer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
great recipe! I didnt have cracked wheat, or sunflower seeds so put in 1/4 cup chopped fine walnuts. I used 3/4 cup honey to 1/4 cup molasses. I added probably 2 to 2 1/2 cups more flour. I made it in my kitchen aid mixer..heavy duty one. I mixed it on Speed 2 until it just came away from sides. Also my flour was freshly ground whole wheat from the farmers market. This recipe is big! I got 12 buns, 1 10"round, 2 --9 1/2 x 5 1/2 loaves. The texture is light and the taste is lovely. I found my bread ready in 25 minutes. I used a thermometer to 200degrees. I think you could make this recipe in any shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is an absolutely wonderful recipe. I've made this at least six to eight times and it always comes out beautifully. The only warning I'd like to give is that it yields four loaves (not two) so make sure you have extra loaf pans! Also, because of all the grains it needs a bit of help rising. I add about 8-10 Tbs. of Vital Wheat Gluten (Bobs Red Mill can be found in any supermarket) and it rises very well. The last bit of advice I'll give you is that due to the abundant amount of loaves this recipe yields, I like to thickly slice this bread and lay out the slices in a gallon freezer ziploc (with wax paper between the slices) and freeze them. I just take out a slice for my breakfast, toast it and slather with butter and jam, and I have breakfast for weeks - and there's still enough to give one or two loaves away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Robinson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was hearty, grainy, and moist--exactly what I was looking for! I did use a little more honey than molasses (still used a cup combined), and I liked the result. This made quite a bit of bread! My bread pans are a little smaller than 9x5", so I knew I'd have more than two loaves, but I ended up with five fat loaves, which was awesome. I did add a few cups more flour, but that's to be expected in a bread recipe--the amount is quite variable depending on humidity and such. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This bread was healthy and delicious but...I had to add a bit of flour to reduce stickiness during kneading. It oozed over the pan when baking and I had to trim. But...it was so yummy! Next time I'll make it into 4 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
What a great bread recipe! Like the submitter, I have a family member who is fighting cancer, and this bread fits perfectly into his diet. I made it pretty much as written, except I used home-canned pumpkin instead of applesauce, and cut the amount of honey and molasses in half. The only complaints I have about this recipe is that it could use a bit more salt, and that the dough was very sticky. I had to add at least half a cup of extra flour...but that might be because I used the pumpkin instead of applesauce. Other than that, this bread is absolutely delicious...even family members who turn their noses up at whole-grain breads were eating this and enjoying it! The texture is nice and soft, with all that wonderful graininess from the cracked wheat and sunflower seeds. The oatmeal gave it a lovely texture as well. I found that I needed WAY more than two loaf pans, because this made A LOT of dough. I used 1 9x5" loaf pan, one smaller loaf pan, and one long sandwich bread loaf pan, in addition to two 9" round pans that I used to make into pull-apart rolls. Thanks so much for sharing this awesome recipe! I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Holy rising dough, Batman! These made the biggest loaves I have ever seen (and I got 4 out of this recipe!!!). They were beautiful & crunchy on the outside, so soft and pliable on the inside. Perfect! I live at 6300 ft. so, with any bread, I add a few Tbs. of dough enhancer; I just can't seem to get a good, light, wheat bread without it. Also, didn't have enough lemon juice, so finished it off with half as much vinegar. Worked great! Thanks BentRiver: my 11 year old son--and best critic--said it was the best bread I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I tried it only once and have had rave reviews from my family and friends. It has quickly become a staple in my home! Cheri Tyler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
When they sold out of our favorite bread at the farmer's market, I came home and searched for a bread to make. This is wonderful. It is dense and very tasty. It does make ALOT of bread...definately use more than 2 bread pans!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States