Whole Wheat Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This bread was healthy and delicious but...I had to add a bit of flour to reduce stickiness during kneading. It oozed over the pan when baking and I had to trim. But...it was so yummy! Next time I'll make it into 4 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This bread is good. It is nice and moist for an all wheat bread. I had to add a lot more flour when kneading (at least a cup.) The recipe makes a lot of bread, so I would recommend spliting it into more than two pans. I used two pans and split the rest between mini loaf pans. My 2 year old daughter loves the mini loaves. My only change would be to reduce the molasses. Next time I might increase the honey and decrease the molasses because it is a very strong flavor. Overall, a recipe I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I had to add a whole lot more flour to get this to the right consistency. Didn't rise very much in the hour, but bread turned out wonderful. Nice hearty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I have a passion for bread. I read the other reviews but had a feeling it would work out. Not only did it rise double in size, but it tripled...each time it rose--AND baked. I almost cried when it rose so much. I just love that feeling :) The trick is LOVE and not overworking it. I was in a hurry--and I think that helped. Make sure you have good yeast. I just made one loaf--cut the recipe in half. Thank you so much for the recipe; I hope your son is healthy and happy. Best, Jennifer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was hearty, grainy, and moist--exactly what I was looking for! I did use a little more honey than molasses (still used a cup combined), and I liked the result. This made quite a bit of bread! My bread pans are a little smaller than 9x5", so I knew I'd have more than two loaves, but I ended up with five fat loaves, which was awesome. I did add a few cups more flour, but that's to be expected in a bread recipe--the amount is quite variable depending on humidity and such. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
My fiancee loves this bread and makes it all the time. As good as it tastes, it's still a bit heavy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
When they sold out of our favorite bread at the farmer's market, I came home and searched for a bread to make. This is wonderful. It is dense and very tasty. It does make ALOT of bread...definately use more than 2 bread pans!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I tried it only once and have had rave reviews from my family and friends. It has quickly become a staple in my home! Cheri Tyler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is an absolutely wonderful recipe. I've made this at least six to eight times and it always comes out beautifully. The only warning I'd like to give is that it yields four loaves (not two) so make sure you have extra loaf pans! Also, because of all the grains it needs a bit of help rising. I add about 8-10 Tbs. of Vital Wheat Gluten (Bobs Red Mill can be found in any supermarket) and it rises very well. The last bit of advice I'll give you is that due to the abundant amount of loaves this recipe yields, I like to thickly slice this bread and lay out the slices in a gallon freezer ziploc (with wax paper between the slices) and freeze them. I just take out a slice for my breakfast, toast it and slather with butter and jam, and I have breakfast for weeks - and there's still enough to give one or two loaves away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Robinson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
i loved this bread! and so did my family!! i made one pan of rolls and two gigantic loaves. shared it with my nco-workers. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States