Whole Wheat Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is a wonderful whole wheat bread. I halved the recipe and still ended up with enough to make a regular loaf and a round loaf. If I hadn't wanted to use my second bread pan for a different loaf of bread, I'm sure it would've made two loaf pans worth. It's hearty yet not too dense all at the same time. I added 5 tbs of vital wheat gluten and it rose very well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
great recipe! I didnt have cracked wheat, or sunflower seeds so put in 1/4 cup chopped fine walnuts. I used 3/4 cup honey to 1/4 cup molasses. I added probably 2 to 2 1/2 cups more flour. I made it in my kitchen aid mixer..heavy duty one. I mixed it on Speed 2 until it just came away from sides. Also my flour was freshly ground whole wheat from the farmers market. This recipe is big! I got 12 buns, 1 10"round, 2 --9 1/2 x 5 1/2 loaves. The texture is light and the taste is lovely. I found my bread ready in 25 minutes. I used a thermometer to 200degrees. I think you could make this recipe in any shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
LOVE THIS BREAD! I make it as it's written. I've changed this to be my regular bread recipe that I use for sandwhiches and then shaped differently with toppings for a meal type bread. It does make a lot. When I rise it in the sun I get 3 loaves in medium sized pans and 1 log-shaped free form loaf. I love that it's whole wheat, no white flour and it's not too dense. It did take me a while to perfect it. If it's not perfect the first time, keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
i loved this bread! and so did my family!! i made one pan of rolls and two gigantic loaves. shared it with my nco-workers. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is an absolutely wonderful recipe. I've made this at least six to eight times and it always comes out beautifully. The only warning I'd like to give is that it yields four loaves (not two) so make sure you have extra loaf pans! Also, because of all the grains it needs a bit of help rising. I add about 8-10 Tbs. of Vital Wheat Gluten (Bobs Red Mill can be found in any supermarket) and it rises very well. The last bit of advice I'll give you is that due to the abundant amount of loaves this recipe yields, I like to thickly slice this bread and lay out the slices in a gallon freezer ziploc (with wax paper between the slices) and freeze them. I just take out a slice for my breakfast, toast it and slather with butter and jam, and I have breakfast for weeks - and there's still enough to give one or two loaves away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Robinson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I tried it only once and have had rave reviews from my family and friends. It has quickly become a staple in my home! Cheri Tyler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
When they sold out of our favorite bread at the farmer's market, I came home and searched for a bread to make. This is wonderful. It is dense and very tasty. It does make ALOT of bread...definately use more than 2 bread pans!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
My fiancee loves this bread and makes it all the time. As good as it tastes, it's still a bit heavy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was hearty, grainy, and moist--exactly what I was looking for! I did use a little more honey than molasses (still used a cup combined), and I liked the result. This made quite a bit of bread! My bread pans are a little smaller than 9x5", so I knew I'd have more than two loaves, but I ended up with five fat loaves, which was awesome. I did add a few cups more flour, but that's to be expected in a bread recipe--the amount is quite variable depending on humidity and such. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I have a passion for bread. I read the other reviews but had a feeling it would work out. Not only did it rise double in size, but it tripled...each time it rose--AND baked. I almost cried when it rose so much. I just love that feeling :) The trick is LOVE and not overworking it. I was in a hurry--and I think that helped. Make sure you have good yeast. I just made one loaf--cut the recipe in half. Thank you so much for the recipe; I hope your son is healthy and happy. Best, Jennifer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States