Whole Wheat Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Grandma! I knew you prolly posted your bread on here! Still is the most favorite bread I ever had, and even though I'm so many miles away I still think of home and your bread :) Now I have it with me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was great. It is nice and fluffy. It smelled too much like molasses and I was worried that it would taste like it too, but this was quite tasty. Other than the smell, I couldnt taste the molasses at all. Its pretty sweet, but not over powering. The changes I made was, I used olive oil in place of the vegetable oil and did not put in the lemon juice because I didnt have any. Im not sure what difference it would make leaving that out. I liked it anyways. I filled 4 loaf pans. I recommend cutting this recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I am just learning how to make bread (this is my second recipe) and it came out great! I used 6 cups of whole wheat flour and 3 cups of white flour, didn't use the sunflower seeds, and replaced the 3/4 cup of cracked wheat with flax seeds. It came out great but it made 3 large loaves so I get to share with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I think this bread is wonderful and tasty! I would recommend that you cut the recipe in half and use more flour when kneading it. I also use a third of maple syrup for the amount of honey and molasses, instead of the full amount for both, as it takes away the molasses flavor and makes it sweeter. I think I like to make rolls out of it better than making the bread loaf. You can make them bigger to make little sandwiches out them. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
What a great bread recipe! Like the submitter, I have a family member who is fighting cancer, and this bread fits perfectly into his diet. I made it pretty much as written, except I used home-canned pumpkin instead of applesauce, and cut the amount of honey and molasses in half. The only complaints I have about this recipe is that it could use a bit more salt, and that the dough was very sticky. I had to add at least half a cup of extra flour...but that might be because I used the pumpkin instead of applesauce. Other than that, this bread is absolutely delicious...even family members who turn their noses up at whole-grain breads were eating this and enjoying it! The texture is nice and soft, with all that wonderful graininess from the cracked wheat and sunflower seeds. The oatmeal gave it a lovely texture as well. I found that I needed WAY more than two loaf pans, because this made A LOT of dough. I used 1 9x5" loaf pan, one smaller loaf pan, and one long sandwich bread loaf pan, in addition to two 9" round pans that I used to make into pull-apart rolls. Thanks so much for sharing this awesome recipe! I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is fantastic! Thank you ! I have searched/experimented with whole grain recipes for years and feel like I struck gold today!! I made this today making the following substitutions/changes based on other reviews and ingredients on hand.. 3/4 cup honey, 1/4 cup molasses, 3T unfiltered applecider vinegar instead of lemon juice. Didnt have the cracked wheat or sunflower seeds on hand so I crushed up Organic Pumpkin-Flax-Plus Granola and added 1 1/2 cups of it. It's tasty, has a wonderful texture and so easy to make . Thanks and blessings to you and your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Holy rising dough, Batman! These made the biggest loaves I have ever seen (and I got 4 out of this recipe!!!). They were beautiful & crunchy on the outside, so soft and pliable on the inside. Perfect! I live at 6300 ft. so, with any bread, I add a few Tbs. of dough enhancer; I just can't seem to get a good, light, wheat bread without it. Also, didn't have enough lemon juice, so finished it off with half as much vinegar. Worked great! Thanks BentRiver: my 11 year old son--and best critic--said it was the best bread I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I didn't have molasses, so doubled the amount of honey, and didn't have cracked wheat, so used 7 grain cereal. This filled more than 1 bread pan, so some of the dough went into a bread pan, and the rest was a free formed loaf. The smaller amount baked in 35 minutes, and the larger loaf baked in 45 minutes. Wonderful taste! Great texture! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Super delicious bread! I followed other reviewers suggestions and changed the ratio of honey and molasses - used about 1/3 cup molasses and 2/3 cup honey. I didn't have cracked wheat, so substituted cornmeal grits (polenta grind) and that was a nice addition. I also used 1 cup graham flour and 1 cup wheat bran, and reduced the whole wheat flour to 7 cups, substituted oat bran for the oats, added 3 tbsp gluten and 3 tbsp powdered buttermilk. I used roasted, salted sunflower seeds, so reduced the salt as well. I didn't bake it in bread pans - I formed 2 round loaves and 2 oblong loaves and put on 2 oiled cookie sheets. The bread turned out heavy, dense, and delicious - just the way we like a good bread. This recipe is a definite keeper - but I probably will halve the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Wen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keno, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is the best recipe for bread that I have found. I took the suggestion to use 1/4 molasses and 3/4 honey after finding the taste too strong. I add 9 tbs. of vital wheat gluten for nice raising. I use 5 cups fine grind wheat and 4 cups course grind wheat. Since we usually don't have applesauce, I just microwave an apple or pear to start the yeast it. I also use whole flax seed. It is great tasting bread with fantastic texture with the whole grains!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States