Whole Wheat Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This is the best whole grain recipe I can find. It accommodates personal choice of grains and sweeteners a without spoiling the bread. It does need more flour. The recipe does call for 4 bread pans, so I'm wondering about the confusion on that. It makes 4 perfectly sized 9 x 5 inch loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by junktree
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I used 1/2 a packet of cream of wheat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I am going to make this bread today, but I will cheat and use my bread machine to knead the dough initially. (I blew my left shoulder and being left handed just can't do the dough justice by kneading by hand). I will keep with the original ingredients but cut the recipe in half for 2 loaves except I will use Red River Cereal in place of the cracked wheat and flax seeds as Red River Cereal is made up of cracked wheat, cracked rye and flax seeds. I use it all the time in place of cracked wheat! I make bread all the time and wouldn't recommend doubling or quadrupling the grains because this will make the bread too dry and too grainy, spoiling the texture. Ok, so I made two loaves of this bread. It worked very well in my bread machine but I added probably a cup more of the whole wheat flour while it was kneading as it was way too sticky. After trying the bread, toasted for breakfast I recommend cutting back by half the amount of molasses and honey, as I found it way too sweet. Otherwise it is a very good bread and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB COUNTRYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Really good recipe! I made a few changes only because I didn't have the flax meal or cracked wheat so instead I used 1/2 cup oat flour and 3/4 cup chia seeds. I also didn't have molasses so I used 1/2 cup organic maple syrup. I ended up needing probably about 2 cups more flour than the recipe called for. Makes 4 beautiful loaves of bread! The bread rose beautifully and cooked perfectly in about 40 minutes. Very dense but at the same time fluffy and a wonderful flavor. Definitely recommend this recipe but don't be afraid to make a few changes if you don't have everything on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I love this recipe, I've made it exactly, a couple of times now and the flavour and texture are great. I have trouble working out which of my assorted bread tins is the right combination for the amount of dough - but that's MY problem!! This does make a lot and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Really liked this bread! It rose so high that I had to remove th e other rack in the oven. Tastes good too! It has a smooth and soft texture. Very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I'm crazy about the ingredients in this bread, but not the proportioning of them. Would recommend quadrupling flax seed, cooking oats, sunflower seeds and cracked wheat ... and doubling water, applesauce, honey, molasses and oil. Would also recommend oiling dough once placed in pan for final rise ... and sprinkling with flax seed, cooking oats, sunflower seeds and cracked wheat. Crust gets darker than desirable before bread finishes baking; covering dough with aluminum foil in late stages of baking would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I love this bread. It made 3 large loaves and they froze beautifully. I didn't have cracked wheat so I substituted quinoa and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I cut this in half for my Zo bread machine; it still kept rising over the top. Next time I'll cut it down to 9. Had a good taste & moist but we'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Grandma! I knew you prolly posted your bread on here! Still is the most favorite bread I ever had, and even though I'm so many miles away I still think of home and your bread :) Now I have it with me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States