Whole Wheat Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Really good recipe! I made a few changes only because I didn't have the flax meal or cracked wheat so instead I used 1/2 cup oat flour and 3/4 cup chia seeds. I also didn't have molasses so I used 1/2 cup organic maple syrup. I ended up needing probably about 2 cups more flour than the recipe called for. Makes 4 beautiful loaves of bread! The bread rose beautifully and cooked perfectly in about 40 minutes. Very dense but at the same time fluffy and a wonderful flavor. Definitely recommend this recipe but don't be afraid to make a few changes if you don't have everything on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I love this recipe, I've made it exactly, a couple of times now and the flavour and texture are great. I have trouble working out which of my assorted bread tins is the right combination for the amount of dough - but that's MY problem!! This does make a lot and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Really liked this bread! It rose so high that I had to remove th e other rack in the oven. Tastes good too! It has a smooth and soft texture. Very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I'm crazy about the ingredients in this bread, but not the proportioning of them. Would recommend quadrupling flax seed, cooking oats, sunflower seeds and cracked wheat ... and doubling water, applesauce, honey, molasses and oil. Would also recommend oiling dough once placed in pan for final rise ... and sprinkling with flax seed, cooking oats, sunflower seeds and cracked wheat. Crust gets darker than desirable before bread finishes baking; covering dough with aluminum foil in late stages of baking would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I love this bread. It made 3 large loaves and they froze beautifully. I didn't have cracked wheat so I substituted quinoa and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I cut this in half for my Zo bread machine; it still kept rising over the top. Next time I'll cut it down to 9. Had a good taste & moist but we'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Grandma! I knew you prolly posted your bread on here! Still is the most favorite bread I ever had, and even though I'm so many miles away I still think of home and your bread :) Now I have it with me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was great. It is nice and fluffy. It smelled too much like molasses and I was worried that it would taste like it too, but this was quite tasty. Other than the smell, I couldnt taste the molasses at all. Its pretty sweet, but not over powering. The changes I made was, I used olive oil in place of the vegetable oil and did not put in the lemon juice because I didnt have any. Im not sure what difference it would make leaving that out. I liked it anyways. I filled 4 loaf pans. I recommend cutting this recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I am just learning how to make bread (this is my second recipe) and it came out great! I used 6 cups of whole wheat flour and 3 cups of white flour, didn't use the sunflower seeds, and replaced the 3/4 cup of cracked wheat with flax seeds. It came out great but it made 3 large loaves so I get to share with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I think this bread is wonderful and tasty! I would recommend that you cut the recipe in half and use more flour when kneading it. I also use a third of maple syrup for the amount of honey and molasses, instead of the full amount for both, as it takes away the molasses flavor and makes it sweeter. I think I like to make rolls out of it better than making the bread loaf. You can make them bigger to make little sandwiches out them. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States