Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
A nice dense hearty muffin. I left out the buttermilk and added more pumpkin, also 1 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp baking soda instead of what the recipe called for. They were great, my teenagers ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brown eyed girl in NC
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Right off, I totally McGuyver'd this just because I'm a baker and felt like playing with food, and I was happy to see a recipe using pumpkin. I took a photo of one of them cut in half so the texture and height can be seen. Being a baker I know I have lots of things many folks won't hanging around my pantry but they are all common items for baking. I could tell the original was good by reading it so I jumped in. My husband(healthy food Hater) just poked his head in and said "Those muffins are ridiculously good) Glad I wrote it down now. So, the things I changed... for the flour: 3/4C whole wheat, 3/4 wheat bran, 1/2 C.pastry (cake)flour and 2 t. gluten powder. For the brown sugar 1/2 C. barley malt syrup. For the white sugar: 1/2 C. white sugar. I did like another reviewer and did not use oil and increased the pumpkin to 3/4 C & used the half sugar crasins and the last is in place of all cinnamon I used 1 t. cinn & 1 t. ginger. Key to moist bran items is to soak it in the milk the recipe needs while getting the other things together. I buy my barley malt on line and use it sometimes in place of sugar. Very healthy w a slight molasses taste. The label can answer any question you may have. I took everything wet, including the soaked bran and gave it a mix in the mixer, tossed in the dry then folded in. It made 6 giant muffins in 25 minutes. Oh, I had a little streusel left in the freezer so I topped them before baking. I know, Mcgyver city, but really good and fluffy too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is a good recipe for a healthy muffin. A little more dense than I'd prefer, but all, in all a decent alternative for a healthy breakfast or snack option. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Reduced sugars to 3/4 C total and still plenty sweet; substituted choc chips which enticed my 7yo to try them; beautiful, tall muffins - easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Very good! I didn't have the applesauce, so I substituted it with date syrup and instead of 2/3 brown sugar+1/3 white sugar I used 3/4 white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I too omitted the oil and just added extra applesauce. I think next time I might put more pumpkin in as well. Overall it was very good! Myself, my husband and two daughters (6 and 3) loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jess.halbrecht
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is SO delicious. I wanted a heathy, nutrient-packed, sweet treat for Sunday evening, and this was perfect, BUT with healthy modifications, like other suggested: Cut the white sugar completely, and up the brown sugar a tad to 3/4 cup. Cut the oil completely as well - instead, increase the pumpkin to 1/2cup + 1/8 cup, and the unsweetened applesauce to 1/2 cup +1/8 cup as well. (To make up for the 1/4 cup of oil). In addition, use 1/2 cup of egg whites instead of 2 whole eggs. Sprinkle muffin tops with unsalted pumpkin seeds for a delicious, perfect touch. Another tip: lets muffins cool, but while they are still warm (not hot), wrap in aluminum foil and seal in ziploc bags to freeze, if you aren't going to eat everything at once. It REALLY keeps them fresh when you store them when they are still warm, and easily defrost within 15-20 minutes, which is perfect to take one out when you are getting ready in the morning, grab and go and you have a delicious breakfast :) Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Easy and delicious muffins. I don't feel too guilty about eating them. I baked half the recipe by the instructions and added about 2 Tbsp of ground flax to the rest. I will probably add 1/4 cup flax the next time just to add some fiber. I might also cut down on the oil and sub applesauce to make it a touch healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LisaC108
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
These were wonderful! My husband loved them too. I followed the recipe, only adding dried cranberries rather than raisins. Yummy! This is a great way to use up left-over pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaC108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lavenia Rareba Gillespie
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Super Yummy! I also skipped the white sugar, substituted pumpkin purée for oil, and added walnuts and milk chocolate chips. Super moist/better the next day after sitting overnight in a sealed container :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States