Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Very good! I didn't have the applesauce, so I substituted it with date syrup and instead of 2/3 brown sugar+1/3 white sugar I used 3/4 white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I too omitted the oil and just added extra applesauce. I think next time I might put more pumpkin in as well. Overall it was very good! Myself, my husband and two daughters (6 and 3) loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jess.halbrecht
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is SO delicious. I wanted a heathy, nutrient-packed, sweet treat for Sunday evening, and this was perfect, BUT with healthy modifications, like other suggested: Cut the white sugar completely, and up the brown sugar a tad to 3/4 cup. Cut the oil completely as well - instead, increase the pumpkin to 1/2cup + 1/8 cup, and the unsweetened applesauce to 1/2 cup +1/8 cup as well. (To make up for the 1/4 cup of oil). In addition, use 1/2 cup of egg whites instead of 2 whole eggs. Sprinkle muffin tops with unsalted pumpkin seeds for a delicious, perfect touch. Another tip: lets muffins cool, but while they are still warm (not hot), wrap in aluminum foil and seal in ziploc bags to freeze, if you aren't going to eat everything at once. It REALLY keeps them fresh when you store them when they are still warm, and easily defrost within 15-20 minutes, which is perfect to take one out when you are getting ready in the morning, grab and go and you have a delicious breakfast :) Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Easy and delicious muffins. I don't feel too guilty about eating them. I baked half the recipe by the instructions and added about 2 Tbsp of ground flax to the rest. I will probably add 1/4 cup flax the next time just to add some fiber. I might also cut down on the oil and sub applesauce to make it a touch healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LisaC108
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
These were wonderful! My husband loved them too. I followed the recipe, only adding dried cranberries rather than raisins. Yummy! This is a great way to use up left-over pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaC108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lavenia Rareba Gillespie
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Super Yummy! I also skipped the white sugar, substituted pumpkin purée for oil, and added walnuts and milk chocolate chips. Super moist/better the next day after sitting overnight in a sealed container :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
These are great! I will make them again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Brandt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Wasn't thrilled with these at all. Too much pumpkin pie artificial taste. Tasted better with raisins than without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Delicious. Made recipe as written with my kids. I dont expect there to be any left for breakfast! Highly recommend. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hbc129
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Delicious! I made them for my 3.5 and 1 year old and they loved them! I like to freeze healthier homemade muffins and leave in a ziploc bag for a quick breakfast option! And this one is going on our breakfast menu more often! Next time, I will add pecans and raisins for an extra delicious pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States