Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Thank you for this recipe. It has become a staple in our home. I have 9 children and it is very hard to find a healthy recipe that everyone likes, this is one of them. I do modify it because of health reasons. I use real maple syrup instead of regular sugar, then reduce the applesauce a tad. other than that i made it the same way. I have to quadruple the recipe to make sure no fights arise over who ate them all haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EMHenning
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
These are really good, the kids don't even know they are healthy!! I did make some changes to the original recipe because I wanted to use an unrefined sugar and get rid of the oil. I used white whole wheat flour, increased the pumpkin pie spice to 1T, replaced the oil with an extra 1/4C pumpkin, and replaced the white and brown sugars with 2/3C demerara sugar, and I added a good handful of chopped pecans. After reading previous reviews I decided to give my liners a little spray with pam with flour before filling to help prevent sticking.. it didn't work as well as I had hoped. I think in the future I may turn the oven down closer to 375 because they did look a little brown on the bottom after only 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
These turned out dry for me. I've also noticed that using all whole wheat flour gives muffins a raw-uncooked taste. Not a bad basic recipe but I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Left out the white sugar, added walnuts and ground flax. Used all applesauce instead of oil and EnerG Egg Replacer instead of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUMLUVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I don't care for these. My husband and I are both bariatric patients so I ALWAYS cut back on sugars and oils in recipes. I followed some other reviewers' advice and left out the white sugar and oil, and upped the pumpkin and applesauce. They are very dense and kind of bland. Just not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I liked this recipe, but I did change a few things. Many of the comments said to omit the white sugar, which I did. I also read they were a little dense and I HATE dense muffins so instead of 1/3 cup of buttermilk I used 1 tbs of lemon juice to just under 1 cup of milk. I used chopped walnuts instead of pecans because that's what I had (I chopped some more and sprinkled on top) and I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla for extra flavor. I increased the cook time by about 4 min. because of the extra liquid. They turned out super light just how I like them! I would use a little more cinnamon next time for more flavor and maybe sprinkle some sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Loved these and made them even healthier! I substituted applesauce/mashed banana for the oil. My son is allergic to dairy so I used hemp milk in place of the buttermilk (much healthier option for those who haven't looked into this). Omitted the white sugar. These are soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Used whole wheat pastry flour,used half the oil,added a tsp of vanilla(because imo vanillla makes everything better) &omitted the white sugar as well as the other tasters suggested:-). Yummy moist healthy muffins! My kiddos love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Dry and tasteless I would not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BROZZY
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
These muffins are delish! I made the following slight changes, otherwise I followed the recipe as written: used 3 tablespoons coconut oil instead of canola oil. Used skim milk plus 1 teaspoon vinegar as suggested instead of buttermilk. Omitted the raisins and pecans. I greased the muffin pans instead of using paper liners and they came out great. I feel like I'm eating pumpkin pie without the crust! ~~ Oops! I realized I used 1 cup of pumpkin instead of 1/2 cup...I am going to continue using the full cup when I make these in the future. More vitamin A and more YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States