Whole Wheat Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I also did some slight modification and used 1 c vital wheat gluten + 1 / 2 c soy flour. In addition to whole wheat Atta (Indian) + agave syrup. The pitas came out perfect with huge pockets every time, and a much healthier alternative to store-bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Just getting into baking breads and such from scratch vs buying at store. Trying to make healthier choices for the family. Tried these this evening and they turned out pretty good. Used honey instead of molasses and 2c wheat flour and 1c all purpose since thats what I had on hand. Will be making again and will try other whole grain flours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
In my opinion this recipe has many flaws.1. I tnhink the yeast is supposed to be proofed earlier than mixing with flour. 2.I think the salt is supposed to be added in the flour, not while proofing yeast.3.Even after proofing the yeast & then adding it correctly to the flour, the flour didn't rise much 1st rise(supposed to get double in size).4.it didnt form fluffy pockects.While baking there were very little pockects, ,but not like separate top &bottom.5.Could make only 4, each 7" round whereas recipe states 6.Also it took additional 10-15 min. to get fully baked.7 &that too using middle rack.the texture was on crisp side rather than soft. I don't know how can this recipe be listed here . taste wise it was fine.But definitely not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsooo1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I have always just adored pita bread, and this is a healthier, delicious version! I love the taste that the molasses gives. If you're not a fan of molasses, you can leave it out and substitute honey. Thanks so much, "Charlotte's Mom"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I made this recipe today, incorporating the changes recommended by many reviewers (subst. honey for molasses, add salt with flour, use 2c WW and 1c AP). Even without really giving them time to rise properly, these turned out very well! I baked some on a cookie sheet and others on a pizza stone. The cookie sheet ones are permenant flatbreads, but the pizza stone ones puffed up perfectly! Can't wait to stuff them full of goodies! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dexter'smom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
A-mazing! 4 stars because of the salt- thankfully I took the advice of many reviewers and added the salt to the flour mixture instead of the yeast. I also used straight whole wheat flour. Then, FOLLOW DIRECTIONS EXACTLY! (with the exception of salt.) and these will puff up and be soft, yet strong enough for kids to fill themselves :) A total keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was great at Easter!They were just stuffing these pockets with anything- hummus or ham.. my younger teen sister put pasta salad in it... yeah.lol You do have to add salt w/ DRY ingredients..toward END!NOT WITH YEAST! It turned out delish & made pockets just like the store bought have!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maiseheartsfashion

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I made these with Joseph's Maltitol instead of molasses or honey--they are YUMMY and belly good! (if you follow the belly fat cure program) Delicious as a base for a low carb pizza too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkersburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I've been wanting to make whole wheat pita bread for awhile. This recipe is wonderful! Having never made pita bread, I was a little nervous, but they turned out perfectly! I did use 2 tbsp of honey instead of molasses and added salt later as other reviewers have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I am giving this a 4 star because I love the freshness of the pitas. I used honey instead of molasses. Used 2 cups WW and 1 cup AP flour. Not many of my pitas puffed up, but that is likely because I did not roll them flat enough. With the pitas that did not form pockets, I simply cut them in sections then slip them open. Baked them with salt and olive oil in 375 degree oven until brown. these were absolutely delicious and MUCH BETTER than the famous brands. I love knowing the ingredients, and knowing there are no preservatives. Also, made for party and the pita chips got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States