Whole Wheat Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
By simply following the recipe, this dough was never going to come together. I had to add water to it before it would stay together enough for me knead it. After that, it was all uphill. It came together very nicely, rolled out beautifully through my pasta maker and was delicious mixed with asparagus, mushrooms and shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Excellent recipe. It was probably due to the relative humidity where I am (winter in the prairies up north) and also due to the technique I was using for kneading the dough (stand mixer), but I found that this recipe didn't even come close to having enough moisture, I probably added about an additional quarter cup of water until I got the consistency I was looking for. I bake a lot of bread, so my wheat was all pretty "fresh", and hasn't been sitting on the shelf for years, so that can be ruled out. I could have probably made due with much less moisture if I was kneading by hand (I tried that only once.....). It wasn't until I added that extra moisture that I got a ball of dough instead of crumbs swirling around in the bowl, like some of the other reviewers described. I kneaded it for at least 5 minutes (probably more), I mean why not, it's not like I'm doing it by hand right, leaving a nice spring in the mouth feel of this. I really appreciate that this recipe uses ingredients I always have in my pantry. If you are wondering wether or not this is a pasta recipe you want to try, go for it, it's definitely one that I've added to my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
this is so good!! I added all the ingredients into my stand mixer, then used my pasta roller, I had the best pasta, that I ever made... I will make this often!! my family begged for more! thanks gigi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NuJoi
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is a killer recipe! I loved it so much, I wrote about it on my blog: http://nujoikitchendiary.blogspot.com/2008/01/channeling-lidia.html I used a KA stand mixer for mixing, rolling and cutting. Use the paddle attachements to bring the ingredients together. If it isn't coming together properly, add a little water. I used a spray bottle, but you can also use a spoon to sprinkle it on top of the dough. Be careful to add too much water. As you roll the pasta dough, the flour becomes more hydrated, so just be patient. (I know that's easier said than done.) The cooked noodles were not heavy at all. They were silky, but had a little texture and had a good nutty flavor from the whole wheat flour. Please try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NuJoi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
If you have a stand mixer with a dough hook and a pasta roller machine, then by all means, try this pasta! The taste is excellent. If you don't, then brace yourself for some sore arms and a stiff back....this dough is brutal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Excellent recipe. Used mixer and pasta machine, quick and much tastier than dry pasta. Had to add water to mine, depends on the amount of humidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Nice coarse texture with the wheat flour, which I liked. I did it by hand and yes, it was hard to knead! I also had to add water to get it to stick together. It never even occurred to me to use my KitchenAid mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This was very time consuming. It was my first time making pasta, but it was very hard to roll out if you don't have a pasta machine. Over all it tasted great with pesto, parmesean cheese, and asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I changed the recipe to serve six although the original recipe would have served my family of six just fine, it made a lot of pasta. I mixed it in my mixer and the dough wasn't coming together. After adding a little water with no difference I finally added another egg. That would have been like adding a half of an egg to the original recipe. I kneaded by hand since my mixer just pushes pasta dough around the bowl. I didn't find the kneading too hard and I got a nice elastic dough after about five minutes and continued to knead for a few minutes after that. I should have split my dough in half because I could not roll it thin enough. I cut it by hand with a pizza cutter and it cut easily. The end product came out very tasty even though it was kinda thick. However, towards the end of my plate when the pasta had cooled off it started tasting very doughy. I think this is just because I couldn't get it thin enough. I will definately make this again. I'll have to try the original recipe and see if I still have to alter it. I used stone ground whole wheat which may also have made a slight difference. My kids all loved it right away, but nobody wanted the seconds after it cooled. I think this would make great dumplings or noodles for soup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Johnson Chou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I kneaded it all by hand and had to add a tablespoon or two of water to be able to work with it. I also subsituted 3 T. of the all purpose flour for soy protein. Great tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

How to Make Homemade Egg Pasta

Learn how easy it is to make fresh homemade egg pasta with your stand mixer.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States