Whole Wheat Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I am the original poster of this recipe, for whatever reason the recipe I submitted had an additional 1 Tablespoon water and the olive oil should be 2 Tablespoons as well. I make this using my kitchenaid mixer along with the kitchenaid pasta attachment. Just throw everything in the bowl and knead until it comes together. I then hand knead it for a minute or so, then I rub the dough ball with olive oil, cover with plastic, and let it rest 30 mins to 1 hour before I roll it out. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
this is so good!! I added all the ingredients into my stand mixer, then used my pasta roller, I had the best pasta, that I ever made... I will make this often!! my family begged for more! thanks gigi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I kneaded it all by hand and had to add a tablespoon or two of water to be able to work with it. I also subsituted 3 T. of the all purpose flour for soy protein. Great tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
If you have a stand mixer with a dough hook and a pasta roller machine, then by all means, try this pasta! The taste is excellent. If you don't, then brace yourself for some sore arms and a stiff back....this dough is brutal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I changed the recipe to serve six although the original recipe would have served my family of six just fine, it made a lot of pasta. I mixed it in my mixer and the dough wasn't coming together. After adding a little water with no difference I finally added another egg. That would have been like adding a half of an egg to the original recipe. I kneaded by hand since my mixer just pushes pasta dough around the bowl. I didn't find the kneading too hard and I got a nice elastic dough after about five minutes and continued to knead for a few minutes after that. I should have split my dough in half because I could not roll it thin enough. I cut it by hand with a pizza cutter and it cut easily. The end product came out very tasty even though it was kinda thick. However, towards the end of my plate when the pasta had cooled off it started tasting very doughy. I think this is just because I couldn't get it thin enough. I will definately make this again. I'll have to try the original recipe and see if I still have to alter it. I used stone ground whole wheat which may also have made a slight difference. My kids all loved it right away, but nobody wanted the seconds after it cooled. I think this would make great dumplings or noodles for soup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
By simply following the recipe, this dough was never going to come together. I had to add water to it before it would stay together enough for me knead it. After that, it was all uphill. It came together very nicely, rolled out beautifully through my pasta maker and was delicious mixed with asparagus, mushrooms and shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This was very time consuming. It was my first time making pasta, but it was very hard to roll out if you don't have a pasta machine. Over all it tasted great with pesto, parmesean cheese, and asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Good, but if you don't have a pasta machine, it's a lot of work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Nice coarse texture with the wheat flour, which I liked. I did it by hand and yes, it was hard to knead! I also had to add water to get it to stick together. It never even occurred to me to use my KitchenAid mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is an excellent and very balanced recipe for homemade pasta. It is not necessary to add extra water or egg. Pasta often does not seem to come together at first, but becomes stickier as you kneed it allowing it to absorb the extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

How to Make Homemade Egg Pasta

Learn how easy it is to make fresh homemade egg pasta with your stand mixer.

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Chicken

A simple mixed nut pesto pairs perfectly with nutty whole grain spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States