Whole Wheat Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Turned out exceptional. Good consistency, did not stick, did not break. Good taste. Moisture content was fine for me. Extremely tough dough by design-- I would not suggest anyone attempt this by hand unless they are on steroids ;) I used a bread maker and a pasta roller device.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I'm pretty good in the kitchen and I had a horrible time with these. The dough needed much more liquid than the recipe calls for. I still couldn't get it to a consistency that was good for rolling. Even after adding almost a cup of water I still couldn't get the dough to roll thin. I used a rolling pin, my hands, etc. and it would not budge. Consequently my noodles were on the thick side and it took a long time to cook them. Once they were cooked they didn't even taste very good. These noodles were edible but I certainly won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
this sounds great, has anyone made fresh pasta for a baked dish like manicotti? I'm not sure if I'd have to boil the shells first and then fill them, or just fill them and bake. I usually use the no-boil shells but I want to use a whole wheat and fresh pasta is so much better than dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elstilez
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
this was my first time making homemade pasta and i don't have a pasta machine or a mixer so it was all me baby!! and it wasn't really thaaaat hard. the worst was how long it took to unroll the noodles after i cut them (i rolled the dough and sliced to desired width). i had to add a bit of water to get the dough to stick together in the beginning. i halved the recipe and it was perfect for 2. my boyfriend even loved the noodles, and he was really skeptical.. :P thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elstilez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Excellent recipe. Used mixer and pasta machine, quick and much tastier than dry pasta. Had to add water to mine, depends on the amount of humidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Excellent recipe. It was probably due to the relative humidity where I am (winter in the prairies up north) and also due to the technique I was using for kneading the dough (stand mixer), but I found that this recipe didn't even come close to having enough moisture, I probably added about an additional quarter cup of water until I got the consistency I was looking for. I bake a lot of bread, so my wheat was all pretty "fresh", and hasn't been sitting on the shelf for years, so that can be ruled out. I could have probably made due with much less moisture if I was kneading by hand (I tried that only once.....). It wasn't until I added that extra moisture that I got a ball of dough instead of crumbs swirling around in the bowl, like some of the other reviewers described. I kneaded it for at least 5 minutes (probably more), I mean why not, it's not like I'm doing it by hand right, leaving a nice spring in the mouth feel of this. I really appreciate that this recipe uses ingredients I always have in my pantry. If you are wondering wether or not this is a pasta recipe you want to try, go for it, it's definitely one that I've added to my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NuJoi
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is a killer recipe! I loved it so much, I wrote about it on my blog: http://nujoikitchendiary.blogspot.com/2008/01/channeling-lidia.html I used a KA stand mixer for mixing, rolling and cutting. Use the paddle attachements to bring the ingredients together. If it isn't coming together properly, add a little water. I used a spray bottle, but you can also use a spoon to sprinkle it on top of the dough. Be careful to add too much water. As you roll the pasta dough, the flour becomes more hydrated, so just be patient. (I know that's easier said than done.) The cooked noodles were not heavy at all. They were silky, but had a little texture and had a good nutty flavor from the whole wheat flour. Please try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NuJoi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is an excellent and very balanced recipe for homemade pasta. It is not necessary to add extra water or egg. Pasta often does not seem to come together at first, but becomes stickier as you kneed it allowing it to absorb the extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Nice coarse texture with the wheat flour, which I liked. I did it by hand and yes, it was hard to knead! I also had to add water to get it to stick together. It never even occurred to me to use my KitchenAid mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Good, but if you don't have a pasta machine, it's a lot of work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

How to Make Homemade Egg Pasta

Learn how easy it is to make fresh homemade egg pasta with your stand mixer.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States