Whole Wheat Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I truly needed to make no modifications to this recipe. (Although I did use all whole wheat instead of half and half) I know it's tempting to add water, but just be patient and work it in well with your hands. It will soften up eventually. This recipe makes an awesome pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I grind my own whole wheat flour so I just used that kind. I also had to add a little water. I have never made noodles before, I mixed the dough in a stand mixer then used a noodle roller and OH MY GOODNESS these are GOOD! I just put some butter and salt on them and the whole process took less than 15 minutes! The longest part was peeling them apart out of the noodle roller. Would also work to roll it out and cut them, and probably wouldn't take much more time. Well off to finish the last half of the batch, I was just so excited to rate this! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Pasta was too dry, had to add an additional egg and some water to even get it close to the recommended consistency. Use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Very good pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clint

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I used 3 cups of white whole wheat, 4 eggs PLUS 1 yolk and added 2 TBS of water in addition to the olive oil and salt. I mixed it with the dough hook on my kitchen aide stand mixer. Then, I rolled it by hand and cut out for ravioli's. It turned out great. It really wasn't killer to roll by hand. Though it does have me wanting the machine now. This is totally superior to store bought whole wheat pasta. I wouldn't have guessed such a difference. Tip: if you are hand rolling pasta once you get a little length on your dough hang it half off the counter while rolling. That way you are over the part you are working on and it stretches a little too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I would give it five stars but it needed more water. I mixed the dough in my food processor for it to look all crumbly. It was my first time so I took it out and kneaded it into a ball. The dough was tough and was really hard to roll out by hand. After I boiled it unlike other fresh pastas I've tried it took a very long time to boiled over 6 minutes and was still undercooked. Tasted awesome still. Next time Ill add more water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
The only key ingredients to pasta are flour and eggs. If you have those two things the outcome is entirely up to you. Throw the salt and oil in if you feel like it. But do yourself a favor and research pasta making techniques before you begin. Don't use A/P flour unless you have to. My best batches have all been with bread flour. Or, for REAL pasta, use semolina. Dont' worry about using all the flour. If you have way too much flour, add another egg - not water. Let the dough rest a full hour, not half. Kneading for a smooth, silky, elastic dough, and resting for the FULL HOUR are vital. It's all about feeling it out, and having fun with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justina Schneeweis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SavedByGrace
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Perfect! I halved the recipe and had to add 1 1/2 TBS water to make the dough come together. I'm very excited to have leftovers tonight! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Great recipe...very simple! I tossed everything in my kitchen aid mixer added a little extra olive oil and a couple teaspoons of water...turned out perfectly. I used meyer lemon olive oil....gives it a great flavor. I served with with broiled lemon garlic mahi mahi. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
very nice, but if you roll it out by hand, you have quite a bit of work ahead of you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

How to Make Homemade Egg Pasta

Learn how easy it is to make fresh homemade egg pasta with your stand mixer.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States