Whole Wheat Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This is a great tasting whole wheat pasta recipe. It has a great texture that really holds onto sauce. I used my Kitchenaid mixer to make the dough, let is stand as noted for 30 minutes and then used the Kitchenaid pasta plates for forming pasta. As others noted, I also had to add a few tablespoons of water to the dough to get to the correct texture. My kids and husband really loved this pasta and it will become a staple recipe in our house. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Great whole wheat pasta recipe! I mixed mine in my stand mixer with a dough hook and rolled it with pasta roller attachments and it was very easy. I have made pasta by hand before, but the rolling is very tedious because the dough is so elastic... you can mix the dough by hand but at least need a hand crank machine (for your sanity) to do the rolling I think. As other reviewers stated, there did not seem to be enough moisture in the recipe. Adding one more egg and ~1 tbsp of water helped it come together into a smooth, elastic dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I absolutely love whole wheat pasta- the flavor is more complex than pasta using just AP flour. We really enjoyed these noodles with a simple marinara sauce, however, I think it would be good with some Italian sausage in the mix, too :) As other reviewers said, I did need to add just a little bit of water for my dough to hold together well. I also up-ed the salt to 1 tsp. and the olive oil to 1 Tbsp. just based on personal taste. Thought this was a great recipe and will use it again- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by Suzie the Foodie
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Fantastic! This dough worked perfectly for my portobello and sundried tomato with goat cheese raviolis. I even froze it for a while and still, the flavour was wonderful. Could hardly tell it was whole wheat (not a fan usually) and will make this again. Thank you so much! Oh and BTW, you can easily make this in a food processor which takes all the work out of the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie the Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I've never handmade pasta before so this was eye opening. I originally planned on making lasagna noodles but had so much dough leftover that I made lasagna as well as small egg noodles and both came out very well. The only complaint I have is that I did have to add extra water to the recipe and even then it was a very tough dough to knead not to mention roll out hithin enough for good noodles. All in all, though, the work was well worth it as the noodles came out quite well and definitely easier to cook than dry noodles! I will definitely be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I loved the flavor of the pasta. I had to add just a little bit more water than the recipe called for, but be careful and don't add too much! The more you work the dough the more moist it will become!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizcox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forsyth, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I MADE THIS TODAY. IT IS WONDERFUL. I DID ADD ANOTHER EGG. THERE WAS NOT ENOUGH MOISTURE BUT THEN IT WAS FINE. I USED MY PASTA MACHINE FOR THE FIRST TIME . IT WAS FUN MAKING IT AND IT TASTED REALLY GOOD. I MADE CHICKEN SOUP AND PUT THESE NOODLES IN IT. GREAT. PHYL32
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I couldn't get the dought to come together, no matter how long I worked at it. Then I checked a package of store bought whole wheat noodles and found this receipe has: 8.6 g. fat, store: 3 g. this recipe:Cholesterol 212 mg, store: 5.5 mg, this recipe: Sodium293 mg, store:15 mg. That is just too signficant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was excellent! I made it in my KitchenAid mixer according to the first review (the poster of the recipe), and it turned out great! I did have to add a few extra tablespoons of water to make the dough form, but that's not unusual for bread-like dough. My uncle who makes homemade ravioli every year says that it's crucial to let the dough sit for at least an hour before rolling, ideally overnight. I would also say that, depending on how thick your noodles are, the recipe makes 4 very generous servings. I was worried I wouldn't have enough for 5 people, so I doubled it, and that is too much (though now I have lots of yummy leftovers, so no real loss). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This recipe makes great pasta and couldn't be easier. I had to add a little bit of water, but I think that because I made it on a cold day and my forced-air gas heater was running, drying out the air. This will now be my go-to pasta recipe. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob in Houston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

How to Make Homemade Egg Pasta

Learn how easy it is to make fresh homemade egg pasta with your stand mixer.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States