Whole Wheat Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I dont know what I did wrong, but this was a disaster for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLYKNOWSBEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Very delicious pasta. My wife was a little nervous of me making pasta but decided it was very tasty. The only thing I did was add a few teaspoons of water to get it to come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D2hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Easy to make. I grind my own wheat berries for the whole wheat flour. I add a little water while mixing and kneading. Then running it through the pasta maker is great. The family loves the spagetti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
The mix was too dry to come together. I added 1/3 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Excellent basic/base pasta recipe. This recipe can be changed easily, but taking out the oil and adding spinach, sun dried tomatoes or chopped basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OROSI RILEY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I tried it twice the same night and ended up making store bought spaghetti in the end but at least I had two dough bookends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Very good recipe! Like others I need to add water when kneading, but the end result was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
The flavor of this pasta is awesome! Delicious and nutty and definitely way better than the store bought stuff. However, the dough is such a pain in the tush to work with that I almost didn't get to the tasting part, which is what earned it the 2 stars. I followed the recipe exactly, but like many other reviewers, found nothing but crumbles in my kitchen aid, so I added 2 tbs of water, then 1 tbs of oil, then another egg, then another tbs of oil, then another tbs of water. It finally came together, and i kneeded for about about another 3 minutes by hand, put it in the fridge for 2 hours, but when I took it out to put it through the pasta press, it was WAY too dry. I had to split it in 4's, literally run it under the tap to add more water, and put it back in the fridge overnight. When i took it out tonight, it kept creating holes when I ran it through the pasta sheeter, so i had to sheet it in VERY small portions, going from 1 -5, then line those pressed portions (pressed to 5) up into an appropriate pasta length and run it through again at 5 a few times to create one sheet of noodle length. It was a giant pain in the butt. I cooked it for about 2 minutes for a good al dente bite, and served it with homemade ox tail bolognese and Parmesan cheese. It holds up really nicely to the sauce and has a great flavor - definitely not cardboardy like store bought whole wheat pasta, but be prepared to WORK if you're going to make this recipe, even if you do use a stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I am not a fan of commercial whole wheat pasta (flavor is similar to cardboard, in my opinion.) So I was anxious to try this after reading the reviews!! AMAZING!! I substituted white whole wheat flour for traditional whole wheat -- the results were spectacular!! I mixed and kneaded in my Kitchenaid with the dough hook -- dough was smooth and supple! We will definitely be using this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Great recipe. Added a bit of water per others' recommendation. Turned out great both in fettuccini and lasagna. Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

How to Make Homemade Egg Pasta

Learn how easy it is to make fresh homemade egg pasta with your stand mixer.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States