Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
It wasn't very fluffy. The taste was good, but the batter was very watery and the pancakes didn't rise much. Maybe it was the buttermilk substitute I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lila Lundquist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
The best recipe for pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tirunelveli, Tamil Nadu, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
These were delicious! I used 1/3 cup ground oats because I didn't have wheat germ. Then I used 2 cups sour milk and had planned on using the other1/2 cup but didn't need it. I used 1/4 cup of apple sauce in place of the butter and meant to use an egg, but totally forgot! They turned out wonderful! Sorry I made so many changes, but I we're trying to be super healthy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Really good and fluffy, I used milk and vinegar since I didn't have buttermilk at the moment. Also used less milk. Wouln't know it's made with whole wheat and wheat germ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This pancake recipe has moved to the top of the list at my house. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I doubled the recipe and just used four cups of whole wheat flour, no white (I was out of wheat germ so just made up the difference with whole wheat flour). The only other change I made was to use sucanat instead of brown sugar, and sour milk instead of buttermilk, since that's what I had. My first bite was gross, but I quickly realized I'd forgotten the salt. Oops. I added it to the rest of the batter, and these were definitely some of the best whole wheat pancakes ever. Very tender, delicious with butter and maple syrup. You won't even miss the white flour if you skip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Excellent! Made 16 pancakes instead of 4 at the 4" size I make them! Truly a "keeper" recipe. I used all whole wheat flour, and palm oil rather than butter for frying them. Turned out golden and spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Great pancakes. Light and fluffy. I made in the food processor and it was quick and easy. I substituted quick oatmeal for the germ (what I had on hand). I'd start with less buttermilk than the recipe calls for and see if you need to thin it out from there. So cut be half a cup. Yum Yum. Really cooked up nice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
These are flavorful and have a great texture. I've made them with butter and with coconut oil. Both versions have been wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latty72
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
These were delicious pancakes and nice and fluffy. I used 1% milk with a little vinegar in place of the buttermilk as I didn't have any on hand for my late night craving. This is my new pancake recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States