Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
I make these all the time now, and will not go back to pancakes mad with white processed flour. My kids (2 and 4) also love these. They are also good served with fresh sliced strawberries. I will try blueberries in them next. I've also used light buttermilk, and half buttermilk / half 1%, which also worked out great...they're a tad lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
These are great pancakes. Takes a little time to make them, but the well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I didn't have buttermilk, so I tried the milk and lemon juice trick, but the milk didn't curdle. I used the milk anyway, just added it slowly until the mixture was batter consistency. I used quick oats instead of wheat germ, too. Anyway, they still turned out great. Not as fluffy as if I had used buttermilk, but my 17 month old daughter was crazy for them and I felt good giving her something she loves that is not totally processed. They freeze well, too. Easy to throw a few in the microwave for an easy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Absolutely delicious and had a nice fluffy texture. For me the recipe made about 14 medium sized 4-5" pancakes. As per a previous reviewer I am anxious to try freezing them and reheating. I used the wheat germ and only used 2 cups of the buttermilk(actually had no buttermilk on hand so used 2TB vinegar and the rest skim milk). It seemed that the batter would have been too runny with that last 1/2 c. Now just have to figure out what to do about all the butter! May try substituting some applesauce for the butter next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
The most amazing pancakes I've ever made OR eaten! They absolutely melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
Tasty! These pancakes are so good. My very picky two year old didn't even realize they weren't the usual white pancakes. She devoured them. They actually tasted better than white flour pancakes. I did use quick cooking oats instead of wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
My husband wasn't very excited to hear we were having whole wheat pancakes for supper! He loved these as did my four-year old daughter. She never batted an eye to the fact that they were any different! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
These are a wonderful substitution for traditional white pancakes! My 19 month old didn't even notice the difference. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used skim milk (all I had on hand)and vinegar. The pancakes still tasted great, but the batter was a little runny. Next time I will try using real buttermilk. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYSLYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
These are good and I felt healthy eating them. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
Mine didn't fluff up after the first pancake. I will try more baking powder next time. Also reduced buttermilk (milk with vinegar) to just over two cups and it was looking pretty runny at that. Takes a bit more work and a food processor but the result is yummy with maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States