Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
Jen, thanks for the great recipe! The pancakes turned out fluffy and light just as advertised! I didn't measure any of the ingredients directly (I ususlly go by 'feel' when cooking). Because of this I wasn't too concerned about the fact that baking soda was missing from the ingredients list, but was called for in the body of the recipe... If you want to make this recipe and you are going to use buttermilk do not forget to use the baking soda! I think I put about a 3/4" of a teaspoon in. I also didn't have any buttermilk, but I found that if you put about 2tsp of regular vinegar in whole or 2% milk it will cause the milk to curdle slightly and will closely resemble buttermilk. (By the way, you can't even begin to taste the vinegar in the final pancakes after baking.) I've added this recipe to my box and will now make it my mainstay for making pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
I make these all the time now, and will not go back to pancakes mad with white processed flour. My kids (2 and 4) also love these. They are also good served with fresh sliced strawberries. I will try blueberries in them next. I've also used light buttermilk, and half buttermilk / half 1%, which also worked out great...they're a tad lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
These are great pancakes. Takes a little time to make them, but the well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
These are good and I felt healthy eating them. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
The most amazing pancakes I've ever made OR eaten! They absolutely melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
Tasty! These pancakes are so good. My very picky two year old didn't even realize they weren't the usual white pancakes. She devoured them. They actually tasted better than white flour pancakes. I did use quick cooking oats instead of wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I didn't have buttermilk, so I tried the milk and lemon juice trick, but the milk didn't curdle. I used the milk anyway, just added it slowly until the mixture was batter consistency. I used quick oats instead of wheat germ, too. Anyway, they still turned out great. Not as fluffy as if I had used buttermilk, but my 17 month old daughter was crazy for them and I felt good giving her something she loves that is not totally processed. They freeze well, too. Easy to throw a few in the microwave for an easy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
My husband wasn't very excited to hear we were having whole wheat pancakes for supper! He loved these as did my four-year old daughter. She never batted an eye to the fact that they were any different! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Very good. I added some mini-chocolate chips to them, and the kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
These are a wonderful substitution for traditional white pancakes! My 19 month old didn't even notice the difference. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used skim milk (all I had on hand)and vinegar. The pancakes still tasted great, but the batter was a little runny. Next time I will try using real buttermilk. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYSLYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States