Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Yum! But next time I would use the vegetable oil instead of butter like someone suggested and I would also use a little less milk. Oh, and I added a hint of cinnamon, big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elangtry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Good flavor, light and tender, but kinda flat. I think next time I would start with 1 cup of buttermilk and see how the batter looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
These are pretty good, though I won't stop looking for that perfect healthy wholegrain pancake. I subbed oil for butter and oats for wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I made a couple of changes to these. I omitted the salt. I found them way to salty, especially after adding in the baking powder and baking soda which adds saltiness. I also omitted the butter. They weren't dry at all, so why add all the fat and calories?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I used all Whole White Wheat flour instead of the mixture and Splenda instead of brown sugar. I didn't need as much milk. Turned out great. Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robyn
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
These are so good, and the perfect texture. I replaced the butter with 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 canola oil, made soured milk in place of buttermilk (1 Tbsp. vinegar for each cup of milk), replaced a couple Tbsp. of white flour with flax meal, and they are just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
AWESOME! my 2yr old was wanting pancakes and i had no mix. i hadn't ever made pancakes from scratch and i am so glad i chose this recipe! lucky me, they were fantastic. i didn't have buttermilk, so i used the tip about half milk and half yogurt. blended for a minute to give it airy texture with a tsp of vinegar to sour the flavor a little. also used 1/4 cup oil instead of butter. i can't wait to freeze the extras to try toasting them later! thanks for these! i'll make them often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Virginia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Really good pancakes! I found the batter to be a little too runny, so next time, I would cut back on the buttermilk a little. Also, I'm not sure why, but the pancakes were pretty flat. Otherwise, these were extremly tasty and I didn't feel quite so guilty eating them knowing they were made with WW flour and wheat germ! Lovely texture. I just might make this my new pancake recipe! Thank you, Jen for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittySerbia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Loved these pancakes. Better than most restaurant pancakes. I didn't have buttermilk so did the milk/lemon recommendation from some of the other reviews. My kids loved them too. They freeze well, just pop in the toaster for quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maribel Hicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
These pancakes are really good! I didn't have any wheat germ and I wanted to use a bit more wheat flour than the recipe called for, so I ended up using 1.5 cups wheat flour with 0.5 cup all-purpose flour and omitted the wheat germ. They still cooked up nice & light. I agree with another reviewer though, that the recipe calls for too much milk. I added it gradually and ended up with .5 cup leftover milk, and quite a thin batter as it was. With the exception of the milk adjustment, I think this is a great recipe and I'm sure I'll use it again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States