Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Loved these pancakes!!! I didn't add the butter into the batter, and just used a little more buttermilk instead. I also just used a non-stick griddle, so I didn't use the butter to grease the pan either. Added a few blueberries to a few, and they were even better. Definitely a keeper pancake recipe in this house. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
These pancakes were so yummy!!! I didn't have butter milk or brown sugar, so I used unsweetened soy milk and raw sugar. My husband loved them. We topped them with a touch of honey!! Great weekend breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBobbi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juffair, Capital, Bahrain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is the first pancake batter recipe I have made from scratch that I have actually enjoyed. They are light and fluffy. I used canola oil instead of butter and made my own buttermilk with about a tablespoon of lemon juice added to skim milk. Folded some fresh blueberries in the mix and added thinly sliced bananas after putting on the griddle. Kids love them too! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
These are light and tender and very tasty. I usually cut down on the milk because I have trouble flipping them when they are runnier but they are better when you stick to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
yum! I love these! I use all whole wheat flour, part oil and part canola oil instead of butter. I served with a blueberry sauce: put 1 c. blueberries (fresh or frozen) 1/3 c. water and 1/4 c. sugar in a small pot or saucepan and simmer till it reaches your desired thickeness. You may add more water or more sugar the measurments are from memory, i usually just eyeball it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I love these pancakes I make them every weekend. As I have made them more than 20 times there are a few variation, I have come to like. 1) I think the pancakes are a little eggy so I reduce to 1 egg and increase baking powder to 2.5 tsp 2) I add a 1/2 cup of old fashioned oatmeal to my milk. I never have buttermilk so I mix 3 Tbsp of lemon with 2.5 cups milk. 3) I add 1/3 cup of flax seed ground (not milled!) 4) I usually use butter spread as it is a little softer to cut into the batter 5) I usually add cut bananas, blueberries, sometimes chocolate chips, or even raisins to the batter to give it an extra yumminess. These pancakes are great reheated later in the week. This is a weekly must! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I've made the recipe exactly as listed and it was great. This time I added a mashed banana and some chopped pecans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
These were delish! I made a couple healthier substitutions... unsweetened apple sauce replaced butter, used Splenda brown sugar & flax seed instead of wheat germ (bc I didn't have the later). Will come back for this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
These were ok but I have had better whole wheat pancake recipes from here. I don't think I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I loved these! I have a friend who used whole wheat flour for just about everything and then found out her husband has to have a totally gluten free diet....I got all her flour! Followed the directions with the exception to buttermilk I used plain yogurt with a splash of milk to get to the consistency I like. Takes about 3 minutes to cook on each side but I love them just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Potts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States