Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This should be called Wheat Pancakes. Anything labeled as "whole wheat" should not contain any other type of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is a great recipe!! I added a little cinnamon and vanilla to it too! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
LOVED IT! I omitted the butter and added about 1/3 c. applesauce instead and added about 1tbs. of cinnamon. I added less milk, I did about 2-2 1/4 c. I did oats instead of wheat germ and added 2 tbs. of ground flax. And one last thing, I subed agave for the brown sugar. My kids loved them! We put strawberry freezer jam on them or just ate them plain as a snack! So delicious and filling and healthy. It lowered the calorie content about 100 calories per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
These tasted great. My family loved them. I didn't tell the kids that they were different and they all ate seconds. I gave it four stars because the batter was very thin and the pancakes pretty flat. Next time I will use a ltlle less buttermilk and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Just made a batch, they were amazing. I'm due with my first child at minute now, I can't wait to start freezing these for an easy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
These pancakes taste really whole wheaty but still have a great taste to them and are really good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yams15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was the first time I made pancakes from scratch (I always use the boxed Bisquick powder). I wanted to try a recipe that tasted more like restaurant pancakes. The batter is quite thick and I found they were harder to flip being so heavy. All of the butter made them greasier than I like but the butter flavor was very good. I sprayed my griddle with cooking spray knowing these already had so much butter. I followed the recipe exactly although my son wanted chocolate chips in his and I used white whole wheat flour. My son wasn't crazy about these at all. I liked the flavor but they were just too greasy and dense. I do think these could be great with some changes though. I am going to experiment with canola oil and applesauce next time and just put a little butter on top of the finished pancake for flavor. I will also substitute some of the buttermilk for skim milk and see if this helps. If you want a very filling pancake these will really stick by you and I love the use of whole wheat flour and wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I do variations of this with fruit.. sometimes blueberries, strawberries, banana and even apple. I mix it right into the batter and they come out great! I have also been known to put a little flax seed, or almond slivers in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Light, not really fluffy but very good - really buttery but not sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Fantastic, light, and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States