Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
These were delicious pancakes and nice and fluffy. I used 1% milk with a little vinegar in place of the buttermilk as I didn't have any on hand for my late night craving. This is my new pancake recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
They cook up a bit flat, other than that these are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
No one could tell it was whole wheat! I followed the recipe except for subbing half the butter with coconut oil. We made a family night out of it by putting the griddle in the middle of the table, scooping out 1/4 cup for each pancake, and letting everyone decorate their own. I had muffin cups set out with bananas, walnuts, blueberries, raisins, dried cranberries, (and the more indulgent M&Ms, chocolate chips, gummy bears, mini marshmallows, and Reece's pieces). It was great family time! We pre-cooked bacon to reheat before the rest of the family arrived and scrambled some eggs just before sitting down. YUMMY! Thanks for the recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I skipped the butter and replaced it with 1/4 cup of vegetable oil. I also added a couple of teaspoons of vanilla. My boys loved these. Next time, I will reduce the milk a little- maybe 4.5 cups instead of five for a double batch. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Excellent! I also used a mix of plain yogurt and milk to substitute for buttermilk. Very light texture, the butter adds a lot! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Pretty fluffy, but I like them a bit thinner. Did add one extra egg, as suggested and switched out white sugar for brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
These are great pancakes! I made minimal adjustments by doing the oatmeal instead of wheat germ (I ground the oatmeal with a magic bullet) and I did canola oil and applesauce instead of the butter. I also did milk and vinegar instead of buttermilk. Like others mentioned the batter is way too thin and runny if you use all of the buttermilk. I added slowly and did not finish the 2.5 cups and still had my batter too thin so I had to add more wheat flour just to bring it close to normal thickness. Next time (and there will be a next time for these) I will be even more conservative with the buttermilk addition. But overall these have a good flavor and are very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
These are fantastic. Following suggestions from others, I swapped out oatmeal for the wheat germ, as well as applesauce for the butter. They were totally delicious. (Of course I was liberal in cooking them in butter, which is where it gets the flavor best.) We added sprinkles, raspberries, slivered almonds & chocolate chips (some with a combination of 2 or 3), and they were the best pancakes ever. Delicious & healthy-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
These turned out great for my first try with wholewheat. my three boys liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Just found this recipe, made it and it was absolutely fantastic -- didn't taste like dirt, light and fluffy, I want more! P.S. Bon Appetit has a great recipe for making buttermilk using store bought and whole milk. Or just do the vinegar/milk or lemon juice/milk combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States