Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
We really liked these. No one noticed that they weren't the usual white flour pancakes. They do take a bit longer to whip up but for the health benefits, it's definitely worth it. I did think that they took longer on the griddle than my usual recipe, so next time I'll leave more time for that. We got 9, 4 inch pancakes out of 1/2 a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B RUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rock Valley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Excellent pancakes. We topped them with Pike's Gooey Syrup from this site, and it was a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is a great pancake recipe. As others have said, the batter was too thin for us so, we added more flour and more wheat germ until it came to the consistency with which we were comfortable. I would say we added about a cup altogether. This is the only way we make pancakes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Incredible! These are the BEST pancakes I have ever eaten. I added fresh blueberries. This recipe makes so many; I just freeze the leftovers and they are just as good reheated. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I will never have a regular pancake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Delicious!! I gave this four stars since I had to change it a little bit: I used regular whole wheat flour instead of the pastry flour, and I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used skim milk with lemon juice instead. I found that the batter was a little bit too thin for the type of pancakes that we like, so I added almost another cup of all-purpose flour to the mix. The pancakes were beautiful and golden, with a great consistency. We will definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Our current favorite pancakes! My stepdaughter, who doesn't usually like whole wheat, loves these. We add vanilla and a bit of cinnamon and/or nutmeg. This time we tried them cutting the liquid to 2 cups as others suggested and that seemed to work well. We use oatmeal instead of wheat germ. I added some pecans to mine this time and loved them. We tried freezing some "mix" (all the dry ingredients). Worked great! But they freeze cooked well too! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen Wessels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
These were great! I used oatmeal, and the texture was fabulous! They taste almost better than the recipe my dad uses (don't tell him I said that). The only thing is that it needs a little bit more flour to be a good batter. Other than that, they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I took others advice and reduced the milk to 2 cups and used oatmeal instead of wheat germ. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deerfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
THE only recipe I use now. I also add cinnamon, a little vanilla, and substitute the butter with apple sauce, and milk+leon jiuce for the butermilk. Delish! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
These pancakes were really very tasty. They cooked up nicely - everyone enjoyed them. My batch made 18 pancakes using a 1/4 cup to measure them out when I cooked them. Just to give everyone an idea of how much you can expect to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States