Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was a great recipe. The whole family loves them and we do freeze leftovers for quick breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
These are great. My husband raves about these. I don't bother making the small batch this recipe will make. I usually quadruple the recipe. It's o.k. to make these with regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
These were very good - I followed the recipe to a "T", except for using all wheat flour instead of wheat/white mixture. I didn't use it all the first morning I made it, so I saved the rest in the refrigerator and used it the next day - just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I tried this recipe this morning for breakfast and it was fantastic! No more white flour pancakes. Only thing I will change next time is to add a little less milk, the batter was really runny, but still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
My family and I (a kid, a teen and 2 adults) love this recipe! The pancakes have so much more flavor than regular pancakes, thanks to the whole wheat and the brown sugar (great addition!). I just tried the recipe for the first time yesterday, and it has already gone into the family's "best recipes" book. My only concern was that, as I never have buttermilk, i used milk + sour cream to replace it; turned out great, however there was too much milk and the batter was very runny. I'll put less milk next time, so the pancakes are fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChocolatePanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Great pancake variety and certainly better than the wholewheat one I use now. Did not have wheat germ so substituted bakers bran which works fine. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Very thick and fluffy! I used half apple sauce & half canola oil to fill 1/4 cup instead of butter, oats instead of wheat germ, and soy milk instead of buttermilk. Added a few tbsp of flax seed. Amazing with blueberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I used the lemon juice/1% milk substitution for buttermilk (1 tablespoon lemon juice for each cup of milk). I also substituted cinnamon applesauce for butter. When I was a kid, I preferred thin pancakes, but these raise high and were also delicious. The recipe provides a somewhat healthy way to indulge. Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Quite delicious. Better than regular cause its healthier. I used half vegetable oil and half margarine and of course oatmeal instead of wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
These were great!! Especially being whole wheat pancakes, these were exceptionally delicious! The only thing I changed was that I left out the salt altogether. Personally, I don't think these even needed syrup on them with all the butter in them, but are divine with sliced strawberries or any kind of pancake friendly fruit, along with a little whipped topping to top it off. Mmmm! This is definitely a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing this yummy recipe, Jen! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Displaying results 111-120 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States