Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
These were very good - I followed the recipe to a "T", except for using all wheat flour instead of wheat/white mixture. I didn't use it all the first morning I made it, so I saved the rest in the refrigerator and used it the next day - just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I tried this recipe this morning for breakfast and it was fantastic! No more white flour pancakes. Only thing I will change next time is to add a little less milk, the batter was really runny, but still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
My family and I (a kid, a teen and 2 adults) love this recipe! The pancakes have so much more flavor than regular pancakes, thanks to the whole wheat and the brown sugar (great addition!). I just tried the recipe for the first time yesterday, and it has already gone into the family's "best recipes" book. My only concern was that, as I never have buttermilk, i used milk + sour cream to replace it; turned out great, however there was too much milk and the batter was very runny. I'll put less milk next time, so the pancakes are fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChocolatePanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Great pancake variety and certainly better than the wholewheat one I use now. Did not have wheat germ so substituted bakers bran which works fine. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Very thick and fluffy! I used half apple sauce & half canola oil to fill 1/4 cup instead of butter, oats instead of wheat germ, and soy milk instead of buttermilk. Added a few tbsp of flax seed. Amazing with blueberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I used the lemon juice/1% milk substitution for buttermilk (1 tablespoon lemon juice for each cup of milk). I also substituted cinnamon applesauce for butter. When I was a kid, I preferred thin pancakes, but these raise high and were also delicious. The recipe provides a somewhat healthy way to indulge. Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Quite delicious. Better than regular cause its healthier. I used half vegetable oil and half margarine and of course oatmeal instead of wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
These were great!! Especially being whole wheat pancakes, these were exceptionally delicious! The only thing I changed was that I left out the salt altogether. Personally, I don't think these even needed syrup on them with all the butter in them, but are divine with sliced strawberries or any kind of pancake friendly fruit, along with a little whipped topping to top it off. Mmmm! This is definitely a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing this yummy recipe, Jen! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
These came out awesome! I was pleasantly surprised at how good they really were. I only had 1 cup of buttermilk so I subsituted about a cup of skim milk. I also used a 1/3 c of unsweetened applesauce in place of the butter to try to cut down on the fat. I served mine with the blueberry breakfast sauce found on this site and it was scrumptious. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Just tried this morning and they were a hit. A little time consuming which is why I gave it four stars (cutting the butter into pieces to put into the dry ingredients and then equivalent of cutting that together resembled making a pie crust). I also didn't have buttermilk and followed the tips I saw in other reviews of lemon juice added to milk (I used 1% milk). I also didn't have wheat germ and substituted quick-cooking oats and a teaspoon of ground flax seed. My fiance requested white chocolate chips as a treat add-in for these and they came out pretty good. I do believe though that I'd prefer adding some blueberries instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.lisac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States