Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very good, this is now the recipe I use. They only problem I have is the batter is slightly runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
These are good and my husband frequently requests this for breakfast on the weekends. I typically always use oatmeal instead of wheat germ, all whole wheat flour, vegetable or canola oil in place of the butter, and regular milk soured with some vinegar instead of buttermilk. I find that 2 1/2 cups of milk is just way too much and the batter is very thin. 2 cups usually will do it for the consistency I like. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freida M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momofmy4crazykids
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
very good, thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was pretty good and a healthy source of folic acid. Cooks a little faster than regular pancakes. Watch closely not to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I didn't have wheat germ so I did have oat meal and 1/2 flax seeds and ground them in a blender before added. Wonderful nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Ummm, I'm never buying Pancake mix ever again! It was a super rainy day, (the effects of Hurricane Ike) & I could not get out to the store, & was out of pancake mix, so I used this recipe-didn't have buttermilk, wheat germ or butter(I was out of EVERYTHING!!!) so I subbed Quick cooking outs for wheat germ, canola oil for butter, & made my own "buttermilk" using 1% milk & white vinegar.(1 TBSP per 1 cup milk, let stand 10 minutes) They are awesome! And turn out way sturdier than store bought Whole Wheat pancake mix ! Definately will be using this again & again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
These turned out EXCELLENT! I didn't have any wheat germ, so I substituted ground flax seed. I used 1/4 C canola oil instead of butter. Next time I might try applesauce. It did turn out a little runny, so I cut the milk to 2 cups and still had to up the flour another cup or so. Because of all the changed I had to make, I only gave the rating a 3, even though flavor wise it came out a 5! We topped with fresh strawberry syrup and whip cream for a delicious Saturday morning breakfast (with leftovers to freeze!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I've made this recipe a few times and found that using less buttermilk is better because they tend to be thin. I also use oats instead of wheat germ and I added frozen blueberries. These taste great and the best thing is, they're healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was a great recipe. The whole family loves them and we do freeze leftovers for quick breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
These are great. My husband raves about these. I don't bother making the small batch this recipe will make. I usually quadruple the recipe. It's o.k. to make these with regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States