Whole Wheat, Oatmeal, and Banana Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I made these according to recipe, only adding a little nutmeg and cinnamon and using lowfat buttermilk instead of plain milk. With most pancake recipes that use oatmeal, I let the batter sit on the counter for a bit before making the pancakes. My kids gobbled these up and asked for seconds! I didn't eat any myself, but they sure enjoyed them. I served them with Absolute Best Pancake Syrup, which is also from this site. There were a few leftover, so I froze them in freezer bags in two portions for my kids so all I have to do is heat them in the toaster the next morning. A+ recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Great recipe! The only changes I made here was to use quick cooking oats (didn't place in the blender), I added 2 bananas instead of 1, I also omitted the sugar and it was just perfect. I think that 1/4 cup of sugar would have been too sweet for our taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
These pancakes are FANTASTIC! My almost-one-year-old and I just gobbled them up for breakfast. What a terrific way to incorporate some additional nutrition into her (our) favorite breakfast. Thank you for posting this recipe- we will be sure to use it repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Went exactly by the recipes (well, I had 2 overripe bananas so I threw them both in). Very good. I've tried a lot of wheat or oat pancake recipes and they are usually a miserable failure, so I was pleasantly surprised by these. The only trouble -- the kids (1 and 3) weren't into them. My 3-year-old was in tears. The 1-year-old just didn't eat as much as usual. So I don't know if I'll make them again or not, but this is definitely the best so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Oh my goodness these were so awesome! Even my husband who hates whole wheat flour in his pancakes loved this recipe. I did add extra banana and cinnamon/nutmeg like some others had suggested. Mmmmmmmm gonna make alot of these! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Leece
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
YUM! These were delish and healthy! I added an extra banana and about a tsp of cinnamon, and am glad I did. I think they may have been a little bland without this. I didn't have any of the dried milk powder on hand, so I didn't add that, and didn't miss it at all either. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I'm rating this on behalf of my granddaughters--they both loved these. I liked everything about them except the banana (a major part of the taste). What I found most appealing about these is the plumpness/texture. I think next time I'll just leave out the banana when I make them just for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Fantastic. I added 1 tsp. cinnamon, otherwise followed recipe exactly. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Wonderfully tasty! I didn't follow the recipe 100%, but they were still wonderful. I didn't blend the oats (on account of not having a blender), cooked them in a stove-top skillet, turned down the heat (on account of slightly burning the first 3), added a second banana, and added two squares chocolate almond bark. All-in-all, a delicious breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
These were really great! I did add another banana, 1 tsp cinnamon, and a splash or so of milk as the batter thickened up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States