Whole Wheat, Oatmeal, and Banana Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
These are always devoured when I make them. I substitute Almond Milk for the 2 cups liquid milk due to a dairy allergy in the family. Totally awesome pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Outstanding! My new go-to for pancakes. Healthier and more filling = fewer pancakes needed. The added cinnamon and nutmeg suggested by others really added subtle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Excellent recipe! I've been making this for a few months now and they are great with bananas or applesauce. My changes: I always add in the cinnamon. I use at least two bananas instead of one; one just doesn't give it enough banana flavor for my tastes. I usually swap the dry milk out for 1/4 to 1/2 cup buttermilk powder and then switch the milk out for water. I often make extra batches of the dry ingredients in ziptop bags and stash them in the freezer. Label the outside with the liquid ingredients and their measures. Then it's as easy for me or my hb to make these as a store-bought mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These pancakes are freakin amazing! I was making pancakes to freeze, 5 of these never made it. Best banana pancakes I've ever had. Omitted the milk powder. And used vanilla soy milk. Also didn't realize that I was out of rolled oats so I used instant whole wheat oats but it didn't seem to have any ill effect. Will definitely make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Excellent special Sunday pancakes! I omitted the powdered milk, substituted Greek yogurt for the vegetable oil and they were a huge hit! Our 11 year old ate 6 of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
These were okay. They tasted very bananany, which I love and were healthy which was great. I just couldn't get them all the way cooked through without burning and had to microwave the two I tried. All that was fine because I made them strictly to freeze and eventually toast for quick breakfasts. I did make a couple of changes. I added cinnamon and nutmeg, without even looking at the other reviews that suggested adding them. And I switched the two flour amounts, which could be the reason for my cooking problem. And I got 15 pancakes, instead of 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Wonderful! I added an extra banana, a little cinnamon, and left out the dried milk. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Excellent! Made as written except for leaving out powdered milk. Great idea to put oatmeal in blender. Turned out better than other recipes I have tried with oatmeal in the batter. Also, great suggestion from reviewer to use blender for the banana and wet ingredients! Might as well wince it's already out and it makes it quick and easy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
My 11yo son found this recipe and made them for breakfast this morning. They were great and everyone loved them. I wasn't overseeing, but I know they must be easy enough that an 11yo can't mess up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I used a blend of rolled outs, rye, barley, and wheat instead of all oats; replaced the all-purpose flour with 1/2 cup whole spelt flour and 1/4 cup whole rye flour; replaced the brown sugar with a few dried dates (which I threw in the blender with the wet ingredients), skipped the milk powder, egg, salt, & oil; reduced the baking powder to 1 tsp (and used a sodium-free variety); used unsweetened soy milk instead of dairy; used 2 bananas; and added 2 T flax meal. The result was light, fluffy, and delicious. It was also a bit healthier than the original and vegan. The dates are unnecessary, but they provide a light sweetness that makes them fantastic without adding syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States