Whole Wheat, Oatmeal, and Banana Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Absolutely Delicious!!! I omitted the dry milk and added a little more banana. Our kid's loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Fantastic! I wanted a recipe for pancakes that my girls could eat with syrup and I wouldn't feel horrible about all the sugar along with all the carbs of normal pancakes. I followed some of the suggested substitutions (egg white vs egg and applesauce vs veg oil and no milk powder because I had none) to make it even more healthy hoping for okay pancakes. But what I got were simply delicious healthy pancakes. Phenom, amom2boys, you got it right here. My girls can have syrup with these and they aren't sugarizing themselves. Thank YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Sundays are pancake day here. I rotate the kinds I make... These have become my kids favorite, they ask for these specifically a lot, so they are made quite frequently. :D I always double the recipe, and freeze the leftovers in baggies with 2 per bag, for quick breakfasts through the week. I leave out the milk powder and add extra banana... cook up half, then add mini chocolate chips to the other half. Thank you for posting the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Fantastic! My husband said these were the best pancakes he's ever had. I actually agree, and I usually don't like banana pancakes - they usually seem too mushy, but not these. I did make a few changes. I halved the recipe and still used a whole banana, used just an egg white and skim milk, added a couple shakes of cinnamon, and ground the oatmeal in the coffee grinder. Don't worry about the dry milk powder, I didn't have it and didn't miss it. I do highly recommend adding a tablespoon of vinegar to your milk and letting it sour for a few minutes. This is a way of making your own buttermilk, and it makes the pancakes fluffier. These will become a family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This is a great recipe. I didn't process the oats and it turned out just fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Yummy! I haven't eaten this many pancakes since I was a child :-) I used quick oats, no blending, soy milk and added a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg. Oh, and I doubled the recipe, which wasn't needed. Original recipe makes a LOT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Turned out really well. I used quick cooking oats and didn't bother pre-grinding. I skipped the powdered milk, added 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I cut the sugar in half and added 1/2 extra mashed banana. My 18 month olds loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherilyn Nobleza
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
The kids liked these. 11yo said the taste and texture were good, but they needed a lot of syrup to keep from being dry. The toddler ate 3 big pancakes, but he's like a goat - he'll eat pretty much everything, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Absolutely delicious! My 2yr old daughter can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great recipe! My pancakes came out very tasty. I must admit, I didn't add a banana b/c I didn't have one, but I really wanted whole wheat pancakes for breakfast and this recipe (and the reviews) looked like a winner. Also, based on other reviews, I didn't add the dry milk powder (didn't have any), but I did add nutmeg and cinnamon. So yum! My husband and I ate 2 each and froze the other 4. We took them to work for breakfast and just popped them in the toaster at work to reheat them. Everyone in my office said they smelled awesome! They tasted just as good as the first time. We will definitely remake this recipe and maybe play around w/adding other fruit. (And I'm going to try no all-purpose flour, too...some day.) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissyFish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States