Whole Wheat, Oatmeal, and Banana Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Fantastic! My husband said these were the best pancakes he's ever had. I actually agree, and I usually don't like banana pancakes - they usually seem too mushy, but not these. I did make a few changes. I halved the recipe and still used a whole banana, used just an egg white and skim milk, added a couple shakes of cinnamon, and ground the oatmeal in the coffee grinder. Don't worry about the dry milk powder, I didn't have it and didn't miss it. I do highly recommend adding a tablespoon of vinegar to your milk and letting it sour for a few minutes. This is a way of making your own buttermilk, and it makes the pancakes fluffier. These will become a family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This is a great recipe. I didn't process the oats and it turned out just fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Yummy! I haven't eaten this many pancakes since I was a child :-) I used quick oats, no blending, soy milk and added a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg. Oh, and I doubled the recipe, which wasn't needed. Original recipe makes a LOT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Turned out really well. I used quick cooking oats and didn't bother pre-grinding. I skipped the powdered milk, added 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I cut the sugar in half and added 1/2 extra mashed banana. My 18 month olds loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
The kids liked these. 11yo said the taste and texture were good, but they needed a lot of syrup to keep from being dry. The toddler ate 3 big pancakes, but he's like a goat - he'll eat pretty much everything, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Absolutely delicious! My 2yr old daughter can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great recipe! My pancakes came out very tasty. I must admit, I didn't add a banana b/c I didn't have one, but I really wanted whole wheat pancakes for breakfast and this recipe (and the reviews) looked like a winner. Also, based on other reviews, I didn't add the dry milk powder (didn't have any), but I did add nutmeg and cinnamon. So yum! My husband and I ate 2 each and froze the other 4. We took them to work for breakfast and just popped them in the toaster at work to reheat them. Everyone in my office said they smelled awesome! They tasted just as good as the first time. We will definitely remake this recipe and maybe play around w/adding other fruit. (And I'm going to try no all-purpose flour, too...some day.) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissyFish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Wonderful recipe. Made a nice batter and filling, slightly nutty and crunchy pancakes. I added a little wheat germ as well, but that was my only change. Served with real maple syrup and sliced bananas. Will definitely keep this one on file. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is a great, healthy recipe! I substituted oil for applesauce and 1/4 cup of the white flour for flaxseed. Delicious! My 2 year old who can be hard to please gobbled them up and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Minus the milk powder, I made this the first time as directed. Very good recipe...everyone loved them. The next time I substituted about 6 oz. canned pumpkin for the banana and added about 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice. Another winner!! Will also try with applesauce and chopped apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States