Whole Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
They were delicious, moist and fluffy. I made some changes as suggested by other members. I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour, added 1 tea spoon cinammon and 1/2 of nutmeg. I substitued the sugar with 1/4 cup of splenda and added 1/2 cup walnuts and used also canola oil. Thank you for the recipe, I did it 3 times and it was always the same result (very easy and delicious) By the way the cooking time was less than suggested by the recipe and be sure if you have them for breakfast you won't feel hungry at all. I eat them one hour before I start fasting. They make you feel full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
I thought these muffins were pretty good. I tried to be healthy and used 2 cups whole wheat flour and substituted applesauce for the oil. I will make again. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2000
For some variation, substitute apple sauce for vegetable oil and add 1 tsp. ground cinnamon and 1 tsp. ginger. The smell will warm your whole house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I modified this a lot -- used 1 1/2c whole wheat, 1/2c oatmeal. Replaced 1/2 the white sugar with brown sugar, used applesauce instead of oil and added a lot of spices: cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cardamom. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
i used all whole wheat flour (no white flour), added about 1/3 cup of chocolate chips and sprinkled sugar on the tops of these before baking and they came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
These could be good if you make some changes. They tasted decent when they came out of the oven, but when the cooled off they became very hard. Use apple sauce instead of oil, to make moist. Add like a cup of blueberries. Add more sugar. The recipe was just lacking in taste and moisture. Add 2-3 TB of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I used a few different suggestions from other reviews. I recently had my gall bladder removed and I am trying to make recipes with low fat ingredients. I substituted applesause(homemade) for the oil,used all wheat flour, used no fat milk and added 1/2 tsp each cinnamon and nutmeg, used 1/4 tsp of ginger and I sprinkled the tops with sugar before baking. The muffins came out moist and delicous. However, the next time I will not use any ginger. Taste is too strong in this recipe. I can't wait to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meshoppen, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
Very good, basic muffin recipe. Can be easily adapted by adding fruit, etc. Add chopped chives to the batter and a cube of cheese in the center of each muffin tin before baking for "dinner" mufffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
i needed a quick, healthy muffin recipe for my 2 stepkids...I only made have the recipe and subsituted a scant cup of Splenda for the sugar and used applesauce and cinnamon as recommended. My kids loved it! It was very moist and had a good light texture. Next time however, I'm going to add more cinnamon and add other spices to make it more tasty. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I have a very picky 8 year old who wants everything 'plain'. I was looking for something healthy that he could have for breakfast on our way to school. This was perfect. He enjoyed these lightly sweet muffins with a tall glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States