Whole Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I enjoyed these very much, came out great for me. Healthy! Added cheese and pizza spices for a pizza muffin. Will decrease the sugar next time and maybe just add honey for pizza muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Absolutely phenomenal! My family and I really enjoyed these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I took some other reviewers' suggestions and substituted applesauce for oil and added a bit of honey and some blueberries. They are good, easy, and low fat. Perfect for an everyday muffin, not your friend's shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I modified this a lot -- used 1 1/2c whole wheat, 1/2c oatmeal. Replaced 1/2 the white sugar with brown sugar, used applesauce instead of oil and added a lot of spices: cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cardamom. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I tried to follow the other reviews to make this recipe both more healthy and tasty. First batch was dense and not very tasty. For the second batch I did 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all purp, 1/4 heaping cup of splenda, 2 T honey, 1/4 sour cream, little less than 1/4 oil, 3/4 milk (may need to eyeball adding a bit more), the baking powder and salt along with a tsp of cinnamon, 1 banana, 1/3 choc chips on half the batch. You have to keep in mind that if you opt to use more whole wheat flour, you must have more wet ingredients in order to keep them moist. The second batch was very tasty and even my picky husband who only likes pure sweetness enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is a great basic whole wheat recipe. I followed other reviewers advice and put in only whole wheat flour, a 1c brown sugar instead of 1/2c of white sugar, I added the cinnamon and the honey, but I also added in bananas and chocolate chips... it came out soooo moist, that it's hard to believe it was whole wheat, and I didn't have any applesauce. Thanks for a great base, I'll use this to start off all my variations now! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I have a very picky 8 year old who wants everything 'plain'. I was looking for something healthy that he could have for breakfast on our way to school. This was perfect. He enjoyed these lightly sweet muffins with a tall glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
A little heavy for my taste, but my husband loved them. I used all wheat flour, added cinnamon, ginger and applesauce. Also threw in raisins and cranberries. They keep very well for over a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was a great base recipe. I add spices and slices of apple for a more flavorful muffin. You can also make it w/ egg whites for less fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I followed the advice given by others (only whole wheat flour, added 1tsp. cinnimon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, capful of almond extract and a handful of dried cranberries) and these muffins came out delicious! Great to find a recipe (and additions) where I have everything always on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States