Whole Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This recipe is a GREAT base to start from when trying to make a healthy muffin. I gave it 4 stars as I didn't think it was a good recipe just by itself... if you get creative though it's definitely 5 stars. I added a little bit of vanilla, and half a cup of chopped strawberries and raspberries, and some blueberries. I also used brown sugar rather than white. So good! Next I may try apple and cinnamon, and may use honey as the sweetener. I like the idea of using applesauce instead of sugar, and will do that when I next have some on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This is a fun recipe to play around with. For one, I substituted applesauce for oil, Splenda for sugar, and almond milk for the regular milk. I added frozen blackberries, blueberries, and raspberries. I also used 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup oatmeal. I was actually using this recipe as a base to try and duplicate the muffins made at the Newsroom in Los Angeles... I'm still working on it, but this recipe really helped get me started! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This muffin recipe is just the begining of many yummy things. I tripled the recipe. Then I divided it into three equal parts. The first part I added 3/4 cups of fresh cranberries (cut into halfs), the second part I added 3/4 cup butterscotch chips and sprinkled with ground cinnamon before baking, and the third part I added 1 tsp. of vanilla and 3/4 cups of chocolate chips! ALL ARE GREAT! WARNING!! The bake time according to the recipe is much too long (unless you are making jumbo muffins). I adjusted the bake time to 13-15 mins and they were cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNAmouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. I also made the substitutions of oatmeal & applesauce per reviews & added chopped walnuts and golden raisins. I made 6 jumbo muffins instead of 12 regular size and they cooked in 20 minutes so be careful not to overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jollywolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Maybe I did this wrong, but they came out like kashi cookies. They were gummy in the middle and didn't puff up into muffins at all. I'll try a different muffin recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Majewski Mazzuca
Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Oh yeah I also sub'd applesauce for oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERICANICOLE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Pretty Good! took others ideas and added 1/2c oatmeal and 1,1/2c wheat flour. Replaced oil for applesauce. Added honey cinnamon and apple spices. Next time I will add some dried cherries and walnuts. Or like someone else did, make my applesauce and add it to make an apple muffin yum! The possibilities are endless with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Despite being quick and simple to make, the texture and taste was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I used a few different suggestions from other reviews. I recently had my gall bladder removed and I am trying to make recipes with low fat ingredients. I substituted applesause(homemade) for the oil,used all wheat flour, used no fat milk and added 1/2 tsp each cinnamon and nutmeg, used 1/4 tsp of ginger and I sprinkled the tops with sugar before baking. The muffins came out moist and delicous. However, the next time I will not use any ginger. Taste is too strong in this recipe. I can't wait to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meshoppen, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ajerde
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I made this recipe a couple different ways. My favorite so far is to use all "white whole wheat flour" instead of mixing two different types and to add a teaspoon of vanilla and a cup of dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajerde
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States