Whole Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
These were tasteless and too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Like others, I made these with all whole wheat flour. I also substituted 1/3 c + 1 tbs honey for the sugar (and added 1/4 tsp baking soda, to counter the slight acidity of the honey), as I try to avoid white sugar. The resulting muffins were pleasantly sweet, moist, and fairly light yet filling. Versatile enough for dinner, breakfast, or a healthy whole-grain snack, but just plain enough that I think I will either add some cinnamon next time and eat them for breakfast, or reduce the honey and add something savory, like a touch of fresh rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Excellent! A real muffin, muffin. It doesn't make you feel so guilty when eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I substituted the milk with water (last minute realized I didn't have milk) and they turned out quite hard, and not vey good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Original recipe was hard after they cooled...but it is a great starter recipe to make into anything you want. I made mini-muffins out of it instead because my kids are small. They devoured them! I added pumpkin pie spices, chunks of apple, ground flax seed and a few swirls of honey the second time around :) I found I needed to spray my muffin pan top as well because they rise more than I expected and I had trouble getting them out of the pan the first time. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
The taste was delicious. I used 2 cups whole wheat flour and added one teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, which gave it a delicious flavor. I also tried using apple sauce instead of oil, but I didn't know how much to use, so I used the same amount called for the oil - 1/3 cup. I'm not sure if that was a correct measurement though, because the batter, when stirred, was more like cookie dough than batter. I lumped it into the cup cake papers, and they came out just fine. But they stuck to the paper pretty good, so I would recommend just greasing the muffin tin instead of using paper liners. In the end, I ate more of these than I should have, so I'd say I really liked them! I'll be making them again, but next time I'll use the oil instead of apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCHPizzi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Me and mom absolutly loved these muffins....soo light and airy, perfect for breakfast....I added 1/2 c. of raisins and a tsp of cinnamon, really yummy. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dodi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss. Sweet Pea
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is a great healthy recipe! I wanted the muffins to be very low in calories with lots of fiber so i used 2 egg whites instead of one whole egg, i replaced ALL the sugar for Splenda, i used all whole wheat flour and no white, i replaced the oil for unsweetened apple sauce, and finally i added 1 tablespoon of wheat germ and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. With all that the muffins are just under 100 calories and taste great! These are a great snack and breakfast food & im happy i came upon this recipe! Will make again! NOTE: Remember when cooking with Splenda that your baked items will cook much faster. It took these muffins only 10 minutes to be done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss. Sweet Pea

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I added half a banana instead of all the oil. Then just a1 Tablespoon of oil. Half brown half white sugar, and a cup of blueberries. Alittle crumble on the top with oats, butter and brown sugar was excellent. Next time I'll try with all whole wheat flour. They were plenty moist. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
these were not very good. I added mini chocolate chips, but they turned out hard and dry and even my mutt wouldn't eat them! garbage....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States