Whole Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
very easy and tasty. I added toasted coconut, a pinch of ginger and some vanilla. Served with orange marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Perfect muffins. I have been successful experimenting with add-ins, too -- so I plan to use this as my muffin "base" for other flavors. Also, I baked them for less time than is indicated. Maybe my oven is just hot. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachadd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
this was abit dry i think next time i will bake at a lower temperature. the muffin also had no taste so hext time i will add cinnamon and some other spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Used brown sugar instead of white, 1/2 melted butter 1/2 applesauce instead of the oil (was out of oil) and added a lot of cinnamon/nutmeg and a bit of vanilla. A tip that might make your life easier: you can make the batter the night before, spoon it into your muffin pan, cover and refrigerate overnight so all you have to do in the morning is pop it into the oven (add ~3 minutes to bake time). Even better, freeze right in the muffin pan and then pop the batter balls out and into a Ziploc. Pull out as many as you want, plop back into the muffin tin and bake (add ~5-7 minutes to bake time). Never have an excuse not to have fresh-baked muffins in the morning again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEANUTPUTTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Like many others, I found these to be very dry the next day. The taste is nice, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie Troch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
After reading other reviews, I decided to skip straight to some alterations that sounded good. I did the 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour + 1/2 cup oats (no all-purpose flour), 1/4 cup white sugar+ 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, 1/3 applesauce (no veg. oil), and I used instant non-fat dry milk (3 tbsp. milk powder plus 3/4 cup water = 3/4 milk) as I do for all of my baking when milk is required (saves having to keep as much fresh milk on hand). The baking powder, salt, and egg were as directed. I made sure not to over stir the batter and kept a close eye on the muffins in the oven which ended up coming out around 17 mins (my oven runs hot). They turned out great! Attractively craggy and rounded, rather dense as I expected with the applesauce substitution, and very tasty. They were gently sweet, and with the added spices smelled so good while baking. I will be making them again! I enjoyed them with the "Delicious Vegan Hot Chocolate" recipe from this site. That was a much sweeter and richer treat, which balanced these milder muffins. I also look forward to trying other variations on this versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I enjoyed these muffins and they were easy to make. I made them twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I love this recipe I made a few changes and got great results. I used apple sauce instead of oil and added flaxseed and nuts. I also only used wheat flower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Good muffins for those of us who enjoy the taste of whole wheat. I'm cutting refined flour and sugar out of my diet so I ended up using 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup oats, cinnamon, and nutmeg as suggested by other reviewers. I substituted 1/4 cup agave for the sugar and used 1/4 cup no sugar added mixed berry flavored apple sauce instead of the oil. They smelled fantastic as they were baking...16 min @ 400 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I followed other's suggestions and these turned out wonderful! I used 1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour and 1/2 c. old fashioned oatmeal. Also sprinkled in some cinnamon and a dash of vanilla. Moist and yummy! I am making another batch now, and plan on substituting half of the oil with unsweetened applesauce. Thanks for the recipe! This is a good muffin recipe that doesn't have a million calories! - After making these with applesauce instead of some of the oil, I'd have to say they're not as good! I may try again but only substitute 1/4 of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States