Whole Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Really good with a few minor modifications. Low fat milk and splenda. Also, instead of muffins I made bread. Need to reduce heat to 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Livingston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maddie_271
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made the base with: 2 cups whole wheat flour 1/2 cup white sugar (just under) 3 tsp baking powder a pinch of salt 3/4 cup skim milk 1/3 cup homemade apple sauce (apples water cinnamon) about a tbs of oil 1 egg 1 tsp cinnamon ground flax (1/2 tsp) I made different versions: PLAIN-added butter to the base yum! SUGAR TOPPED-topped, with sugar WHOLE GRAIN BLUEBERRY-Extra cinnamon, blueberries, nutmeg, half of the sugar was brown, flax seeds, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, poppy seeds APPLE-Extra apple sauce cinnamon and nutmeg, cubed apples HONEY-Mixed in honey, wasn't my favourite ROLLED OATS-Replace 1/2 cup flour with rolled oats. Can be used in combo with another alteration I did above -All in all, they were yummy and healthy. -The taste was very mild with the main flavour being my cannamon and nutmeg (I reccommend extra for the blueberry and apple versions). -As I was making the batter it was very dry. I will use more wet ingredients next time. -I think that they were a little dry (after cooked too) because I used less oil to be healthy. -In contradiction, although they were dry, I found they were a little doughy after cooked. -The muffins rose very nicely in the oven. -I think they would be very good with a butter base instead of oil! -I baked them in 375 for 17 mins -I only got 10 muffins :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddie_271

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
these were a great whole wheat alternative for the sonma diet i try to do. I added pumpkin pie spice and they had a nice flavor and were not too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
After 3 attempts, changing the time/oven temperature, because the bottoms burned after baking for only 20 minutes at 400 degrees, I had to turn down the oven to 350 and bake for only 15 minutes. Finally! They turned out great. I also used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and added some mini chocolate chips. My 1 year old loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Great for modification. I revamped this with 1 1/2c whole wheat flour, 1/2c rolled oats, 1/2c splenda, 3tsp baking powder, 1/2tsp salt, 3/4c fat free milk, 2/3c applesauce, 1 egg, 1tbsp+1tsp flax seed, 2tsp cinnamon. my picky kids loved them and had no clue how healthy i had made the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xtina22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Banning, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This recipe was awesome! I added about 3/4 cup peanut butter & 1/2cup raspberry jelly to make pb&j to go! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I really like these muffins. I made a few changes to the recipe. I used 1 cup of ground oatmeal instead of the all-purpose flour, 15 packs of Splenda instead of the sugar, applesauce instead of the oil and I added just a little cinnamon and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I added the 1 t cinnamon and 1/2t nutmeg as suggested. I found these to be moist enough and I can't wait to try them with some fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
very easy and tasty. I added toasted coconut, a pinch of ginger and some vanilla. Served with orange marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Perfect muffins. I have been successful experimenting with add-ins, too -- so I plan to use this as my muffin "base" for other flavors. Also, I baked them for less time than is indicated. Maybe my oven is just hot. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachadd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States