Whole Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Love these as a basic recipe for all kinds of muffins. I use all whole wheat flour, 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, and about a tsp vanilla. I also like to add whatever berries are in season, or sometimes for a sweet treat, I like to add chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
These are god but I'm giving four stars for this for two reasons. First, because I added cinnamon and nutmeg, which made a BIG difference in the flavor, and also because they always seem to come out dry. I've made them several times, and I put extra milk and an extra egg but they are still a bit dry. I really like this as a base recipe for whole wheat muffins, because you can make your own additions or changes every time you make them. Also I used only ww flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neen718

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Loved these. I did use 2 cups of WW flour rather and added a 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon as well as a about 1/4 cup of chopped pineapple. Fantastic muffin, nice and fluffy too! I am very happy to have a whole wheat muffin option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This recipe was SO easy!!! It took no time at all... and the ingredients were all good :) They turned out good- as I added 1/2 cup of fresh blueberries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These were so moist and delicious!! I added 2 cups of Kashi Oat flakes and Blueberry clusters cereal to them. It gave the muffins an extra crunch. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ksvona
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I used just whole wheat flour, half of the sugar and applesauce instead of oil. So healthy and yummy. Added some blueberries and blueberries and cream oatmeal mix too! Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksvona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I made these wonderful muffins this morning as directed in the recipe but since I didn't have all purpose flour I used bread flour. Substituted a little Splenda for the sugar as well. These muffins came out light and fluffy and yummy straight from the oven! Yes, they are plain but since they are muffins, that's what I expected! When I want delicious, fancier cake recipes , I look on allrecipes and find those. But, for now, coffee and a muffin is making my morning wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3felines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Good recipe if you're looking for a simple, lightly sweet bread-like muffin. I modified by substituting half of the sugar with Splenda and replacing the vegetable oil with applesauce. I also added 1 tsp Vanilla, 2 Tbsp cocoa powder, 1/2 cup chocolate chips (attempting to appeal to my 3 year old), and 3/4 cup finely grated carrot. I think in general they would be better with raisins, cranberries, or blueberries. A word of warning: if you replace the oil with applesauce, don't use paper cups! Mine stuck to the paper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Great base recipe. When I made as originally directed, I found it a little bland. But, after the following additions/changes, they are a hit with the family: added 1 small can of pineapple chunks with juice, 2 very ripe bananas-smashed, 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and 1/2cup of shredded coconut. I omitted the oil, cut back a bit on the sugar and added a splash of milk after mixing everything just to get the right consistency. This made 12 perfectly portioned muffins and they came out moist and flavorful. I try to replace oil and butter with fruit when I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Really good with a few minor modifications. Low fat milk and splenda. Also, instead of muffins I made bread. Need to reduce heat to 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Livingston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States